Share “2 Arkansas State players on Jim Thorpe...”

2 Arkansas State players on Jim Thorpe watch list

Published on NewsOK Modified: July 11, 2014 at 1:48 pm •  Published: July 11, 2014

JONESBORO, Ark. (AP) — Two Arkansas State football players have been named to the Jim Thorpe Award watch list.

The announcement was made Friday that Arkansas State senior safety Sterling Young and junior cornerback Rocky Hayes have both been named to this year's list.

The Jim Thorpe Award was established in 1986. It honors the nation's best defensive back.

With their selection, Young and Hayes become the first two Arkansas State teammates to ever be named to the same major preseason award watch list during the same season.