Share “2 Razorbacks named to Doak Walker award...”

2 Razorbacks named to Doak Walker award watch list

Published on NewsOK Modified: July 17, 2014 at 11:14 am •  Published: July 17, 2014

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) — Arkansas Razorback running backs Jonathan Williams and Alex Collins have been named as preseason candidates for the 2014 Doak Walker Award.

The award is named after three-time All-America running back Doak Walker of SMU and is presented each year to the nation's top college running back.

Collins is a sophomore who was named the Southeastern Conference Freshman of the year last season after rushing for 1,026 yards and four touchdowns.

Williams is a junior who ran for 900 yards and four touchdowns last season and was named an honorable mention to the College Football News All-Sophomore team.

Semifinalists for the award will be announced Nov. 18 and the finalists will be named on Nov. 24. The winner will be announced on Dec. 11.