Share “2009 Oklahoma Hall of Fame class announced”

2009 Oklahoma Hall of Fame class announced

CARRIE COPPERNOLL Modified: June 5, 2009 at 6:40 pm •  Published: June 5, 2009

The 2009 inductees into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame were announced Friday afternoon.

The honorees are C. Kendric Fergeson of Altus; Marlin “Ike” Glass Jr. of Newkirk; V. Burns Hargis of Stillwater; Polly Nichols of Oklahoma City; Lee Roy Selmon of Eufaula; Steven W. Taylor of McAlester; and Wayman Lawrence Tisdale of Tulsa.

The seven nominees were announced during a reunion of past Hall of Fame inductees at the Gaylord-Pickens Oklahoma Heritage Museum.

The honorees will be inducted Nov. 12 into the Hall of Fame. So far, 628 people have been inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame since 1928.

C. Kendric Fergeson

Ken Fergeson is the chairman of the National Bank of Commerce in Altus. He is active in the banking profession as well as the arts.

Fergeson is chairman of Creative Oklahoma and the Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics Foundation, and he’s a member of the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority and the Native American Cultural and Education Authority. He is the national treasurer for Americans for the Arts.

In the past, Fergeson has served as chairman of the American Bankers Association, the Oklahoma Bankers Association, the Oklahoma State Chamber, the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence and Oklahoma Academy. He also has served on several boards, such as for the Oklahoma Arts Council, the Oklahoma Arts Institute, the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum, the Mid-America Arts Alliance, Quartz Mountain Music Festival and the Shortgrass Arts and Humanities Council. He is a vice chairman of the Oklahoma Heritage Association Board of Directors.

Fergeson graduated from Texas Tech University. He and wife Mary Ann have a son, Jarrod, and a daughter, Casey.

Marlin “Ike” Glass, Jr.

Ike Glass owns Glass Trucking in Newkirk. Aside from running his family business, Glass is active in promoting education and transportation throughout Oklahoma.

He has served on the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education since 1997.

He served as president of the Newkirk School Board and president of the Oklahoma State University Alumni Association. Gov. Frank Keating appointed Glass to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education in 1997, and Gov. Brad Henry reappointed him in 2007.

Glass served with the Oklahoma Transportation Center, the Governors Conference on Small Business, the Oklahoma Trucking Association and the State Chamber of Commerce. He is a vice chairman of the Oklahoma Heritage Association Board of Directors.

Glass served as a U.S. Navy air controller during the Korean War. Glass graduated with a bachelor’s degree in management from Oklahoma State University. He and wife Marybeth have a son, Rob, and a daughter, Jennifer.

V. Burns Hargis

Burns Hargis is the 18th president of Oklahoma State University.

Before becoming president of OSU in 2007, Hargis practiced law for 28 years in Oklahoma City. He is the former president of the Oklahoma County Bar Association and the Oklahoma Bar Foundation. He is a fellow of the American Bar Foundation. Hargis also was vice chairman of Bank of Oklahoma.

Hargis was a candidate for the Republican nomination for governor of Oklahoma in 1990.

Hargis served on the Oklahoma State Election Board, the Oklahoma Constitutional Revision Commission, and the Oklahoma Commission for Human Services. Hargis was the first chair of the Oklahoma Creativity Project. He is a member of the Oklahoma Heritage Association Board of Directors.

Hargis earned his accounting degree from OSU and law degree from the University of Oklahoma. Hargis and his wife, Ann, have two children.

Polly Nichols

Polly Nichols is a community volunteer and philanthropist who has been involved with more than 20 organizations.

Nichols was born in McAlester and moved to Oklahoma City in 1971.

Nichols survived the Oklahoma City bombing and then co-chaired the fundraising drive to build the Oklahoma City National Memorial and Museum. She is a member of the museum board of trustees and co-chair of the first Reflections of Hope event for the memorial.

She has served with the Oklahoma City Junior League, Science Museum Oklahoma and the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits.

Continue reading this story on the...


  1. 1
    Former OSU student convicted of manslaughter in 2009 fatal car crash released on bail; attorney...
  2. 2
    Police find dead body in porta-potty outside Cincinnati Bengals' Paul Brown Stadium
  3. 3
    Several Deer Creek schools on lockdown due to report of suspicious person
  4. 4
    Tulsa mother gets three life sentences, father 25 years in 'horrific' child abuse case
  5. 5
    Man who calls police to say he's 'too high,' found in pile of Doritos
+ show more


× Trending news Article