Share “2012 Oklahoma Book Awards finalists chosen”

2012 Oklahoma Book Awards finalists chosen

Winners of the 2012 Oklahoma Book Awards will be announced April 14.
FROM STAFF REPORTS Published: March 30, 2012

Thirty-five books have been chosen as finalists in the 23rd annual Oklahoma Book Award competition. Winners in the categories of fiction, poetry, design/illustration, children/young adult and nonfiction will be announced at a banquet April 14 at the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Museum. Master of ceremonies will be former Lt. Gov. Jari Askins.

Sponsored by the Friends of the Oklahoma Center for the Book, the awards recognize books written the previous year by Oklahomans or about Oklahoma. Of the 35 book finalists, 25 were by authors, designers or illustrators who reside in Oklahoma. This year, 121 books were submitted in the competition.

In addition to the literary awards, Chandler resident and children's book author Anna Myers will be presented with the Arrell Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is named for Norman historian Arrell Gibson, who served as the first president of the Oklahoma Center for the Book.

The 2012 finalists and their categories are:

Children/Young Adult: “Stealing Kevin's Heart” by M. Scott Carter, “Chikasha Stories, Volume 1: Shared Spirit,” by Glenda Galvan, “The Revenant” by Sonia Gensler, “Hereafter” by Tara Hudson, “The Grave Robber's Secret” by Anna Myers, “The Snow Blew Inn” by Dian Curtis Regan, “Mr. Duck Means Business” by Tammi Sauer.

Design/Illustration: “The Eugene B. Adkins Collection” designed by Eric Anderson, “Shooting from the Hip: Photographs and Essays by J. Don Cook” designed by Julie Rushing and Tony Roberts, “Route 66 Sightings” photographed and designed by Shellee Graham, Jerry McClanahan and Jim Ross, “Forging a Nation: The American History Collection of Gilcrease Museum” with photography by Robert S. Cross and design by Carol Haralson, “To Capture the Sun: Gold of Ancient Panama” designed by Carol Haralson, “Ilimpa'chi' (We're Gonna Eat!): A Chickasaw Cookbook” designed by Aaron Long and Skip McKinstry.

Continue reading this story on the...