Share “2014 U.S. Senior Open primer”

2014 U.S. Senior Open primer

A closer look at the USGA, the 2014 tournament and the course.
BY MIKE BALDWIN Published: July 5, 2014

The USGA: The United States Golf Association has served as the sport’s national governing body since 1894. More than 9,000 private and public courses comprise the USGA, which conducts 13 national championships, the majority of which are amateur events other than the PGA Tour U.S. Open, Champions Tour U.S. Senior Open and the women’s U.S. Open.

Defending champion: Kenny Perry. In the 2013 event, Perry fired a final round 7-under par 63 to come from one stroke back to finish with a 13-under 267, five shots better than runner-up Fred Funk at Omaha Country Club.

Multiple U.S. Senior Open champions: Miller Barber (1982, 1984 and 1985) is the only three-time U.S. Senior Open winner. Four players have won twice — Gary Player (1987, 1988), Jack Nicklaus (1991, 1993), Hale Irwin (1998, 2000) and Allen Doyle (2005, 2006).

Oldest winner: Doyle turned 58 a few weeks before winning in 2006.

Youngest winner: Dale Douglas won in 1986 four months after his 50th birthday.

2014 tournament facts

The field: Including 76 spots earned at one-day qualifying tournaments at 34 sites around the country, a field of 156 golfers will be trimmed to the lowest 60 scores, plus ties, after the first two rounds.

Continue reading this story on the...


  1. 1
    Tulsa man pleads guilty to murder for setting house fire that killed 5-year-old
  2. 2
    Police find hatchet, protective gear in house where Bever family members were slain
  3. 3
    Oklahoma City police: Two arrested after woman sexually assaulted in work freezer
  4. 4
    OU football fans among Top 10 ... in grammar
  5. 5
    Wrestling legend Jimmy 'Superfly' Snuka charged in girlfriend's 1983 death
+ show more


× Trending sports Article