A look at the 2014 Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame inductees

A look at the athletes who will go into the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame in 2014
by Michael Baldwin Modified: January 16, 2014 at 7:09 pm •  Published: January 16, 2014


A two-time All-American at Oklahoma, Tucker was the head coach of the U.S. Olympic team that won 1956 basketball gold medal. The 1947 National Player of the Year when he played for the Sooners, Tucker was named to the 1940s NCAA All-Decade team. Tucker played professionally for Phillips 66 and also coached, leading the Oilers to the 1955 AAU national championship. Also a member of the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame, Tucker, from Winfield, Kan., will be inducted posthumously. He died in 1979 at age 57.


A quarterback at Oklahoma, Watts, from Eufaula, led the Sooners to back-to-back Big Eight titles. He was named the Orange Bowl MVP in both 1980 and 1981. After playing six years in the Canadian Football League — leading Calgary to the 1981 Grey Cup finals his rookie season — Watts became a U.S. congressman. He was elected to the House of Representatives in 1994. Watts, 56, is chairman of J.C. Watts Companies, a multi-industry holding company based in Washington, D.C., with operations in Oklahoma and Texas.

by Michael Baldwin
Mike Baldwin has been a sports reporter for The Oklahoman since 1982. Mike graduated from Okmulgee High School in 1974 and attended Oklahoma Christian University, graduating with a journalism degree in 1978. Mike's first job was sports editor...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    GIANT Wasps' Nest Discovered On Woman's Guest Bed
  2. 2
    Report: Clippers to pay Doc Rivers $10M per year
  3. 3
    OU No. 4, Florida State No. 1 in first Amway Fan Poll
  4. 4
    Thunder No. 2 in SI's Western Conference Power Rankings
  5. 5
    OSU basketball: The stripped-down beauty of Eddie Sutton Court
+ show more