Share “Aeneas Williams chosen for Football Hall...”

Aeneas Williams chosen for Football Hall of Fame

Published on NewsOK Modified: February 3, 2014 at 4:00 am •  Published: February 3, 2014

TEMPE, Ariz. (AP) — Former Cardinals player Aeneas Williams has become the first player in the team's history with Arizona to be chosen for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Williams was one of seven people chosen at the Hall's selection committee's annual meeting.

The announcement was made at the NFL Honors award show in New York City on Saturday.

Ray Guy, the first punter elected, defensive end Michael Strahan, receiver Andre Reed and defensive end Claude Humphrey were also part of the class of 2014. Two first-time eligible players, linebacker Derrick Brooks and offensive tackle Walter Jones, were selected.

Cardinals team President Michael Bidwill says he couldn't think of a better candidate to become the first from the team's Arizona era to be honored.

Induction will be on Aug. 1 in Canton, Ohio.


  1. 1
    Tulsa man arrested on 19 complaints after high-speed pursuit
  2. 2
    Federal lawsuit filed against Sapulpa Public Schools in connection with rape allegation against...
  3. 3
    Fox News announces prime-time GOP debate participants
  4. 4
    Did Sen. James Lankford fall into the 'man trap' on abortion?
  5. 5
    Oklahoma State places three walk-ons on scholarship
+ show more


× Trending life Article