Share “Album Review: Mirel Wagner, 'When the...”

Album Review: Mirel Wagner, 'When the Cellar Children See the Light of Day' (Sub Pop)

Album Review: Mirel Wagner, ‘When the Cellar Children See the Light of Day’ (Sub Pop)
By Jessica Allison, For The Oklahoman Published: August 15, 2014

Death and horror have never seemed so beautiful as they do in Mirel Wagner’s second album, “When the Cellar Children See the Light of Day,” released Monday.

The production is beyond minimalistic, with not much more than Wagner’s own guitar strums over her voice — and some sparse backing vocals, strings and guitars on only a couple of tracks — yet it’s enough to keep me entranced in her tales of love, death and pain.

The first track fools us into thinking there may be some light to this album. It starts with a nursery-rhyme sounding “1, 2, 3, 4,” but then proceeds to ask, “What’s underneath the floor?,” providing a sense of uncertainty and anxiety. Another track, “Oak Tree,” is told from the perspective of a corpse buried underneath a tree.

There are broken hearts in “What Love Looks Like” and “Taller Than Trees.” “The Dirt” paints a picture of a child on the verge of death, when Wagner sings, “You can’t eat the dirt, even if you wanna … Momma, I know I’m ready now, Just close my eyes and wake up in a new life.”

Continue reading this story on the...

For fans of: Wilco, Dark Dark Dark, Isobel Campbell


  1. 1
    Former OSU student convicted of manslaughter in 2009 fatal car crash released on bail; attorney...
  2. 2
    Police find dead body in porta-potty outside Cincinnati Bengals' Paul Brown Stadium
  3. 3
    Several Deer Creek schools on lockdown due to report of suspicious person
  4. 4
    Tulsa mother gets three life sentences, father 25 years in 'horrific' child abuse case
  5. 5
    Man who calls police to say he's 'too high,' found in pile of Doritos
+ show more


× Trending ae Article