Share “All-State football facts: The 0s”

All-State football facts: The 0s

by Ryan Aber Published: December 11, 2012


The vast majority of All-State players through the years have been seniors.

Juniors make regular appearances on the list since the team was opened up to them after a stretch of only seniors being considered.

Millwood's Mandrell Dean made history in 1990 as the first sophomore to make the team, though.

Dean made it as a specialist after returning seven kicks for touchdowns and averaging 33.4 yards per offensive touch for the Falcons.


One of the easiest picks on the 1920 team was Tulsa halfback Seth Hughes.

After that, though, the choice at the position was much more difficult.

“There was a wide difference of opinion over halfbacks after Seth Hughes of Tulsa had been given a place,” the story announcing the team in The Daily Oklahoman said on Nov. 28, 1920.

The pick for the second halfback wound up going to Oklahoma City's Carl Schlabach.

“In spite of the fact that he played the last half of the season in a crippled condition nevertheless that fact remains that he delivered the goods,” the story said.


The top two honorees in 1970 were also the smallest in their groups.

Lawton running back Edward Gholson was just 5-foot-10 and 165 pounds.

But Gholson ran for 2,111 yards to break Lawton's season record to that point, averaging 162 yards and game. Only once did he fail to rush for at least 100 yards.

The lightest lineman on the team was Clinton center Bob Lorenz, at 6-foot-2, 180 pounds.

“Lorenz has been described as a ‘head hunter' from his linebacker position for the last three years,” The Daily Oklahoman's Lynn Garnand wrote. “Lorenz is as hard a hitter as you can find in high school football and is a prime reason for Clinton's success the last three years.”


There have been plenty of years where running backs have dominated the All-State team.

On the 2000 team, though, that was particularly true.

Four players on the team ran for more than 2,000 yards, led by El Reno's Marshell Chiles, who ran for 2,706 yards and was named to the team as a kick returner.

The other 2,000-yard rushers were Moore's Chad Tsotigh, Eufaula's Avery Shine and Tecumseh's Patrick Cobbs.

Two more backs on the team — Offensive Player of the Year Kejuan Jones of Jenks and Shawnee's Seymore Shaw — ran for at least 1,700 yards.


In 1930, Classen's T. Ray Phillips made the All-State team as a guard, one of three on the team.

That season, though, Phillips played most everywhere.

“Phillips played nearly every position on the Classen eleven and even called signals a game or two,” Bus Haskins wrote in The Daily Oklahoman story announcing the team. “One of his fortes is swinging into the interference. It was his timely work in this department that made many of the long Comet runs possible. He has an excellent spirit and is more seasoned observing and intelligent than the average scholastic player.”


The jury is still out on how the 2010 All-State players perform in college, but several are off to solid starts — players like Sterling Shepard at OU, Josh Turner at Texas and Kentrell Brothers at Missouri.

Perhaps the most successful so far has been former Jenks quarterback Sawyer Kollmorgen.

After redshirting last season, Kollmorgen threw for 2,460 yards and 21 touchdowns this season at Northern Iowa.

by Ryan Aber
OU Athletics Reporter
Ryan Aber has worked for The Oklahoman since 2006, covering high schools, the Oklahoma City RedHawks, the Oklahoma City Barons and OU football recruiting. An Oklahoma City native, Aber graduated from Northeastern State. Before joining The...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Explosions rock north Tulsa residential area
  2. 2
    Claremore hospital fires doctor who authorities say threatened officer after DUI arrest
  3. 3
    Former Arrow Trucking CEO sentenced to 7.5 years in prison
  4. 4
    George Kaiser Family Foundation donates $10 million in land in Tulsa
  5. 5
    Tom Petty Reveals ‘90s-Era Heroin Addiction in New Biography
+ show more


× Trending high school Article