All-State football: Past Oklahoman coaches of the year

Taking a look at past winners of The Oklahoman's high school football coach of the year award.
Published: December 12, 2012


2011: Troy Bullard, Shattuck

2010: Willis Alexander, Douglass

2009: Darrell Hall, Star Spencer

2008: Cory Bales, Morrison

2007: Jeff Wardlaw, Okeene

2006: Kenny Young, Bishop McGuinness

2005: Patrick McGrew, Bixby

2004: Gary Harper, Berryhill

2003: Brent Whitson, Shawnee

2002: Rafe Watkins, Guthrie

2001: Mike Lee, Clinton

2000: Ron Smith, Deer Creek

1999: Gary Rose, Carl Albert

1998: Joe Tunnell, Rush Springs

1997: Rocky Kime, Oologah

1996: Allan Trimble, Jenks

1995: Dennis Huggins, Midwest City, and Clyde Ellis, John Marshall

1994: Dennis Huggins, Midwest City

1993: Ed Jones, Frederick

1992: Ronnie Tipps, Ardmore

1991: Dennis Casey, Morrison

1990: Tim Reynolds, Lawton Eisenhower

1989: Al Miller, Carl Albert

1988: Jim Holloway, Wynnewood

1987: Buddy Brock, Guymon

Trending Now


  1. 1
    10 Most Popular Wedding 'First Dance' Songs
  2. 2
    Psychologists Studied the Most Uptight States in America, and Found a Striking Pattern
  3. 3
    Facebook Post Saves Drowning Teen
  4. 4
    Saturday's front page of the New York Times sports section is simple: LeBron James and transactions
  5. 5
    The 19th-century health scare that told women to worry about "bicycle face"
+ show more