All-State football: The Oklahoman's past offensive and defensive players of the year

Taking a look at past winners of The Oklahoman's offensive and defensive players of the year awards.
Published: December 12, 2012

1958: Bill Willis, Ada

1957: Danny Griffin, Frederick

1956: Ron Hartline, Lawton

1955: Brewster Hobby, Midwest City

1954: Olen Treadway, Muskogee

1953: Charles Joseph, Seminole

1952: Jay O'Neal, Ada


2011: Kevin Peterson, Wagoner

2010: Kentrell Brothers, Guthrie

2009: Emmanuel Maxwell, Midwest City

2008: Daytawion Lowe, Carl Albert

2007: Beau Bentley, Bixby

2006: Austin Box, Enid

2005: Gerald McCoy, Southeast

2004: Reggie Smith, Edmond Santa Fe

2003: Phillip Dillard, Jenks

2002: Blake Smith, Tulsa Union

2001: Bryan Pickryl, Jenks

2000: Brent Watson, Moore

1999: Adam Doiron, Duncan

1998: Justin Thomas, Star Spencer

1997: Rocky Calmus, Jenks

1996: Cory Callens, Jenks

1995: Donavon Laviness, Midwest City

1994: R.W. McQuarters, Tulsa Washington

1993: Dusty Loveless, Norman

1992: Tyrell Peters, Norman

1991: Sean Wells, Jenks

1990: Phillip Kinney, Lawton Eisenhower

1989: Kerry Sharpe, Checotah

1988: Will Shields, Lawton

1987: Mike Filson, Edmond

1986: Randy Wallace, Midwest City

1985: Harold Jones, Bristow

1984: Terry Pritchard, Moore

1983: Richard Davis, Jenks

1982: Tim Condrin, Jenks, and Jon Phillips, Jenks

1981: Craig Vosburgh, Tulsa Bishop Kelley

1980: Doug Maritan, Tulsa Memorial

1979: Tim Randolph, Midwest City

1978: Kenny Sutton, Duncan

1977: Rob Shaff, Putnam City

1976: Richard Turner, Edmond Memorial

1975: Jerry Greenwood, Bristow

1974: Chuck Roberts, Ada, and Sherwood Taylor, Ada

1973: James Norton, Davenport

1972: Ross Murphy, Tulsa Memorial

1971: Lee Roy Selmon, Eufaula

1970: Bob Lorenz, Clinton

1969: Kyle Davis, Altus

1968: John Carter, Northwest Classen

1967: Larry Newton, Eufaula

1966: Danny Hardaway, Lawton

1965: Ken Mendenhall, Enid

1964: Randy Meacham, Clinton

1963: Keith Lavender, Lawton

1962: Jim Riley, Enid

1961: Thurman Edwards, Seminole

1960: Rod Cutsinger, Elk City

1959: Larry Vermillion, Chickasha

1958: Jim Mihlhauser, Lindsay

1957: Glen Cunningham, Bristow

1956: Jerry Tillery, El Reno

1955: Billy Jack Moore, Ada, and Jerry Thompson, Ada

1954: Ras McAdams, Ada

1953: Benton Ladd, Capitol Hill

1952: John Bell, Enid

Editor's note: In 1992, the Offensive Player of the Year replaced the Back of the Year; and the Defensive Player of theYear replaced the Lineman of the Year.

Trending Now


  1. 1
    10 Most Popular Wedding 'First Dance' Songs
  2. 2
    Psychologists Studied the Most Uptight States in America, and Found a Striking Pattern
  3. 3
    Facebook Post Saves Drowning Teen
  4. 4
    Saturday's front page of the New York Times sports section is simple: LeBron James and transactions
  5. 5
    The 19th-century health scare that told women to worry about "bicycle face"
+ show more