Share “APNewsBreak: Costello, more up for...”

APNewsBreak: Costello, more up for Songwriters

Associated Press Modified: October 10, 2012 at 10:16 am •  Published: October 10, 2012

Non-performing songwriters up for nomination include "Chain of Fools" songwriter Don Covay, country music songwriter Bobby Braddock and Holly Knight, who co-wrote Pat Benatar's "Love Is a Battlefield" and Tina Turner's "Better Be Good to Me."

Linda Perry, the writer behind Christina Aguilera's "Beautiful," is also nominated alongside Bob McDill, Rick Nowels, Randy Goodrum, Tony Hatch and JD Souther. Writing duos Dennis Lambert and Brian Potter, and P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri will also compete.

Eligible voters can select two nominees from the list of songwriter-performers and three non-performing songwriters. Voting ends Dec. 17.


AP Writer John Carruci contributed to this report.


Follow Mesfin Fekadu on Twitter at