EUGENE, Ore. — Late Saturday afternoon, Oklahoma quarterback Paul Thompson admitted what many Sooners apparently were thinking: Eugene felt a lot like Lubbock. Twice in the final 66 seconds, officials reviewed replays of controversial calls. Both calls — an onside kick and a subsequent pass interference call — went for the home team. Like in a controversial loss last season at Texas Tech, the Sooners believed the on-field calls should have been overturned. "I definitely feel that way," Thompson said. "I don't want to say nothing right now because I'm kind of heated." Trailing 33-27 after a touchdown with 1:12 seconds left, the Ducks executed an onside kick to perfection. Or did they? OU receiver Malcolm Kelly moved forward and leaped for the high kick. So did several Ducks. A mad scrum ensued. Replays confirmed OU running Allen Patrick pounced on the ball when it squirted from the pile — before officials converged. Patrick walked away holding with the ball as officials looked for it. But officials awarded the ball to Oregon. Before the play was reviewed, OU coach Bob Stoops said he told the officials, who were part of a Pac-10 crew, that Kelly was trying to field the football before it had traveled 10 yards — before it would become a live ball — and was interfered with as he tried to catch it. "I felt like he was run into inside of 10 yards," Stoops said. "And then our guy (Patrick) who has the football says, ‘Coach, the ball is laying on the ground. I didn't take it away from nobody.' " After the review, referee David Cutaia announced the review had confirmed an OU player "touched the ball." Oregon was given possession at its 48. Two plays later, OU safety Darien Williams was penalized for pass interference. The Sooners believed the ball had been tipped by defensive end C.J. Ah You, which would have meant Williams hadn't committed a penalty. "We all relaxed and said, ‘All right, that's coming back,' " Stoops said. Although Stoops didn't have a replay challenge available — OU was out of timeouts — he raced to an official on the sidelines and said, "You can review a tip, can't you? It's a tipped ball." After the review, Cutaia announced the video evidence was inconclusive. "They said they didn't see it," Stoops said. "They can explain that. I don't know how." The officials didn't explain it. Rules allow for a pool reporter to question officials, but Oregon media relations director David Williford said no one requested an interview. The replay official was assigned by the Pac-10.
NewsOK.com has disabled the comments for this article.