Relocated NBA Franchises

Modified: November 3, 2007 at 1:03 am •  Published: November 3, 2007
2002: Charlotte Hornets moved to New Orleans (moved to Oklahoma City for two seasons due to Hurricane Katrina in August 2005).

2001: Vancouver Grizzlies moved to Memphis.

1985: Kansas City Kings moved to Sacramento.

1984: San Diego Clippers moved to Los Angeles.

1979: New Orleans Jazz moved to Salt Lake City.

1978: Buffalo Braves became the San Diego Clippers.

1973: Baltimore Bullets moved to Landover, a suburb of Washington D.C., and became the Capital Bullets. Name changed to Washington Bullets in 1974. Moved to Washington D.C. in 1997 and became Washington Wizards.

1972: Cincinnati Royals moved primary home to Kansas City and a secondary home in Omaha, carrying the name Kansas City-Omaha Kings. Team ceased Omaha operations in 1975.

1971: San Diego Rockets moved to Houston.

1968: St. Louis Hawks moved to Atlanta.

1963: Syracuse Nationals became the Philadelphia 76ers.

1963: Chicago Zephyrs became the Baltimore Bullets.

1962: Philadelphia Warriors moved to San Francisco.

1960: Minneapolis Lakers moved to Los Angeles.

1957: Fort Wayne Pistons moved to Detroit

1955: Milwaukee Hawks moved to St. Louis.

1951: Tri Cities Hawks (now Quad Cities) moved to Milwaukee.

By John Rohde

Related Audio

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Dog rescued after being stuck in hot tar
  2. 2
    AC/DC's Malcolm Young has dementia, family says
  3. 3
    'Big Brother' star reveals he is HIV positive
  4. 4
    Texas girl missing for 12 years is recovered in Mexico
  5. 5
    PHOTO: Dez Bryant poses for pictures at Texas high school homecoming
+ show more