Share “Outdoor Writer of the Year”

Outdoor Writer of the Year

Oklahoman Published: November 1, 2009
Ed Godfrey is Oklahoma 's Outdoor Writer of the Year again.

Ed will receive the 2008 Joseph H. Edwards award during the Oklahoma Press Association's Mid-Winter Convention Feb. 6 at the Doubletree Hotel in Tulsa . He received the inaugural award last year.

“The Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation created the award to honor a writer whose published work exemplifies and captures Edwards' passion for the outdoors,” Mark Thomas, OPA's executive vice president, wrote in his congratulatory letter.

Besides the Edwards Outdoor Writer of the Year award, Ed will also receive a check for $500 at the luncheon in Tulsa .

The award honors Edwards, who was the publisher of the Bartlesville Examiner-Enterprise from 1993 until his death on Nov. 11, 2006.