Share “Winning a Heisman and going No. 1”

Winning a Heisman and going No. 1

Compiled by Jake Trotter Modified: April 22, 2010 at 5:04 am •  Published: April 22, 2010
Oklahoma’s Sam Bradford is the ninth Heisman Trophy winner to be picked No. 1 overall in the NFL Draft. A look at the previous eight with the year they won the Heisman and the year they went No. 1:

Player, School (Year) NFL team (Year)
O.J. Simpson, USC (1968) Buffalo (1969)
Jim Plunkett, Stanford (1970) New England (1971)
Earl Campbell, Texas (1977) Houston (1978)
Billy Sims, Oklahoma (1978) Detroit (1980)
George Rogers, S. Carolina (1980) New Orleans (1981)
Bo Jackson, Auburn (1985) Tampa Bay (1986)
Vinny Testaverde, Miami (1986) Tampa Bay (1987)
Carson Palmer, USC (2002) Cincinnati (2003)