Share “The Oklahoman named best newspaper at...”

The Oklahoman named best newspaper at Great Plains Journalism Awards event

The Oklahoman won top honors at the Tulsa Press Club's Great Plains Journalism Awards, winning best newspaper and garnering several other top honors Saturday night.
FROM STAFF REPORTS Published: August 1, 2010

The Oklahoman was named best newspaper and picked up multiple individual awards Saturday at the Tulsa Press Club's Great Plains Journalism Awards.

The newspaper's staff also took first place in the special section category.

Among the individual staff award winners were Jim Beckel, general photography; Jenni Carlson, sports column; Dave Cathey, specialty feature; John Clanton, news photo and feature photography; Nolan Clay, general news reporting; Doug Hoke, studio photography; Chris Landsberger, spot news photography; Tom Maupin, best news headline portfolio; Sarah Phipps, sports photo and photography portfolio; Ken Raymond, newspaper writing portfolio; and Berry Tramel, blog.

The Oklahoman and also were finalists for general news reporting; sports spot news; best website; and website design. The competition included entries in reporting, writing, photography, design and online work from eight states: Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota, Iowa, Arkansas and Missouri.