Share “OSU football notebook: Pat Jones elected...”

OSU football notebook: Pat Jones elected to Gator Bowl Hall of Fame

OSU football notebook: Pat Jones elected to Gator Bowl Hall of Fame

BY GINA MIZELL, Staff Writer, Published: December 20, 2011

Former Oklahoma State coach Pat Jones has been elected to the Gator Bowl Hall of Fame.

Jones led the Cowboys to back-to-back Gator Bowl appearances in 1984 and 1985. OSU beat South Carolina 21-14 in 1984 and lost to Florida State 34-23 the following season.

“This award is a reflection of all the hard work put in by the players and coaches of that era,” Jones said in a release.

The 2011 Gator Bowl Hall of Fame class also includes former Michigan wide receiver Anthony Carter and former Gator Bowl Association head Bill Nimnicht Sr. They will be inducted at the CSX Coaches Luncheon and Hall of Fame ceremony on Dec. 31.


OSU offensive tackle Levy Adcock earned consensus All-America honors after being named a first-team selection by the American Football Coaches Association and the Football Writers Association.

Cowboy teammate Justin Blackmon was a unanimous All-America selection.

Other Big 12 players who earned consensus All-America status include Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III, Oklahoma wide receiver Ryan Broyles and Texas A&M kicker Randy Bullock.

To earn consensus All-America status, a player must be named to the first team on two of the five recognized All-America teams: the American Football Coaches Association, the Football Writers Association, The Associated Press, the Sporting News and the Walter Camp Football Foundation.


  1. 1
    This Russell Westbrook Promo Will Get You Jacked For His 2015-16 Season
  2. 2
    Lawton product Mike Warren has record-setting day for Iowa State
  3. 3
    Slain man's body discovered northwest of downtown Tulsa
  4. 4
    Beware of new smart chip credit card scams
  5. 5
    What is phubbing, and is it ruining your relationships?
+ show more


× Trending osu Article