Share “Two named to Oklahoma DHS governing board”

Two named to Oklahoma DHS governing board

Gov. Mary Fallin names two women from Edmond to fill a vacancy caused by the death of a DHS commissioner and to replace a member whose term expires. The commission is the governing body for the Oklahoma Department of Human Services.
BY MICHAEL MCNUTT Modified: August 17, 2012 at 7:02 pm •  Published: August 17, 2012

The nine-member governing board of the state Department of Human Services, which has lost three members to resignations and one to death in the past 11 months, is back up to full strength.

Gov. Mary Fallin named two new members Friday to the Oklahoma Commission for Human Services, filling a vacancy and replacing a member whose term expired.

Fallin appointed Pam Kanaly, of Edmond, to replace Jay Chase, who died last month.

She also named Karen Waddell, of Edmond, to succeed Richard DeVaughn, of Enid, whose term expired this month.

Kanaly is president and co-founder of Arise Ministries, a national women's outreach organization founded in 2002 that works to strengthen families and support single mothers.

Waddell is president of the Lynn Institute for Healthcare Research.

Both Kanaly and Waddell are Republicans, as is Fallin.

Fallin, who took office last year, now has appointed six of the nine members on the commission, which is the governing body for the Oklahoma Department of Human Services. Commissioners are appointed by the governor to staggered nine-year terms, with one membership expiring each August.

She filled two resignations earlier this year, naming Brandon Clabes and Myron Pope to fill vacancies created by the May resignations of Steven Dow and Anne Roberts.

In September, Fallin named Brad Yarbrough to replace Bob Rawlings, who resigned, and Wes Lane to replace Dr. George Young whose term expired. She said then she was concerned about the “appearance of lax oversight on the part of DHS commissioners” concerning the death of a 5-year-old girl; DHS had placed the girl, Serenity Deal, who subsequently died from a beating.

Fallin named Yarbrough chairman of the commission, but he resigned as chairman in June because of the excessive time commitment; he remains as a commissioner. Fallin last month named Lane, a former Oklahoma County district attorney, to serve as chairman.

Continue reading this story on the...

Related Articles


  1. 1
    Google Parent Company Alphabet Drops 'Don't Be Evil' Motto
  2. 2
    Four more 'Transformers' movies are coming in the next 10 years
  3. 3
    What It's Like to Be an Interior Designer for Really, Really Rich People
  4. 4
    Will the Supreme Court Decide That Democrats Have Too Much Power?
  5. 5
    This Russell Westbrook Promo Will Get You Jacked For His 2015-16 Season
+ show more


× Trending politics Article