Share “Five rookie quarterbacks to start NFL openers”

Five rookie quarterbacks to start NFL openers

by Michael Baldwin Published: September 8, 2012

Former Oklahoma State standout Brandon Weeden is one of five NFL rookie quarterbacks starting the season openers, the first time that's happened since the 1970 merger.

The five: Andrew Luck (Colts), Robert Griffin III (Redskins), Ryan Tannehill (Dolphins), Russell Wilson (Seahawks) and Weeden (Browns).

Luck and Griffin were the first two picks in the draft. Tannehill was selected No. 8 overall, Weeden 22nd. Wilson, a third-round pick, beat out free-agent signee Matt Flynn.

Nearly one-third of NFL starting quarterbacks will be in their first or second season. The five second-year starters are: Cam Newton (Panthers), Jake Locker (Titans), Blaine Gabbert (Jaguars), Christian Ponder (Vikings) and Andy Dalton (Bengals).

Ten starting quarterbacks with one year or less experience is the most since 1950, according to STATS LLC. That was the year the league absorbed three teams from the All-America Football Conference when Cleveland's Otto Graham joined the league.

The previous high mark in the modern era was eight in 2000 (Donovan McNabb, Ryan Leaf, Tim Couch, Daunte Culpepper, Jeff Garcia, Cade McNown, Akili Smith and Jeff Garcia).

by Michael Baldwin
Redhawks, Barons, MLB, NFL Reporter
Mike Baldwin has been a sports reporter for The Oklahoman since 1982. Mike graduated from Okmulgee High School in 1974 and attended Oklahoma Christian University, graduating with a journalism degree in 1978. Mike's first job was sports editor...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Tony Romo calls Pro Bowl an honor, but hopes Cowboys can't play
  2. 2
    Census: State population grows by nearly 25,000 in past year
  3. 3
    Former President George H.W. Bush To Remain In Hospital
  4. 4
    Lawton's Jalin Barnett gets chance to face nation's No. 1 player
  5. 5
    Fans drunk in love with Drinking Jacket Kickstarter
+ show more