Share “Oklahoma State's Barnett, Walsh, Sharp...”

Oklahoma State's Barnett, Walsh, Sharp honored in coaches' All-Big 12

by Jason Kersey Published: December 5, 2012

The coaches' All-Big 12 football team and award winners were announced Wednesday.

Oklahoma State's Calvin Barnett, J.W. Walsh and Quinn Sharp were all honored as individual award winners.

Barnett, a junior defensive tackle, was named the conference's Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

Walsh, one of three Cowboys quarterbacks to start this season, was named Offensive Freshman of the Year.

Sharp, a senior kicker/punter, was named a co-Special Teams Player of the Year, along with West Virginia standout senior Tavon Austin.

The selections are voted on by the league's head coaches, who cannot vote for their own players.


Offensive line: Cyril Richardson, Baylor, Jr.; Cornelius Lucas, Kansas State, Jr.; Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma, Jr.; Lane Taylor, Oklahoma State, Sr.; LaAdrian Waddle, Sr., Texas Tech

Tight end: Travis Tannahill, Sr., Kansas State

Receiver: Terrance Williams, Sr., Baylor; Tavon Austin, Sr., West Virginia; Stedman Bailey, Sr., West Virginia

Fullback: Trey Millard, Sr., Oklahoma

Running back: Joseph Randle, Jr., Oklahoma State; John Hubert, Jr., Kansas State

Quarterback: Collin Klein, Sr., Kansas State

Kicker: Quinn Sharp, Sr., Oklahoma State

KR/PR: Tavon Austin, Sr., West Virginia


Offensive line: Tanner Hawkinson, Sr., Kansas; Lane Johnson, Sr., Oklahoma; Blaize Foltz, Sr., TCU; Trey Hopkins, Jr., Texas; Joe Madsen, Sr., West Virginia

Tight end: Jace Amaro, So., Texas Tech

Receiver: Chris Harper, Sr., Kansas State; Kenny Stills, Jr., Oklahoma; Darrin Moore, Sr., Texas Tech

Fullback: Kye Staley, Jr., Oklahoma State

Running back: James Sims, Jr., Kansas; Damien Williams, Jr., Oklahoma

Quarterback: Geno Smith, Sr., West Virginia

Kicker: Anthony Cantele, Sr., Kansas State

KR/PR: Justin Gilbert, Jr., Oklahoma State


Defensive line: Jake McDonough, Sr., Iowa State; Meshak Williams, Sr., Kansas State; Calvin Barnett, Jr., Oklahoma State; Devonte Fields, Fr., TCU; Stansly Maponga, Jr., TCU; Alex Okafor, Sr., Texas

Linebackers: A.J. Klein, Sr., Iowa State; Jake Knott, Sr., Iowa State; Arthur Brown, Sr., Kansas State

Continue reading this story on the...

by Jason Kersey
OU Sports Reporter
Jason Kersey became The Oklahoman's OU football beat writer in May 2012 after a year covering high school sports and OSU recruiting. Before joining the newspaper in November 2006 as a part-time results clerk, he covered high school football for...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Google Parent Company Alphabet Drops 'Don't Be Evil' Motto
  2. 2
    Four more 'Transformers' movies are coming in the next 10 years
  3. 3
    What It's Like to Be an Interior Designer for Really, Really Rich People
  4. 4
    Will the Supreme Court Decide That Democrats Have Too Much Power?
  5. 5
    This Russell Westbrook Promo Will Get You Jacked For His 2015-16 Season
+ show more


× Trending ou Article