Share “Oklahoma football’s All-Name team”

OU Blog  


Oklahoma football’s All-Name team

by Jason Kersey Modified: April 18, 2013 at 5:16 pm •  Published: April 8, 2013
Former Oklahoma quarterback J.C. Watts scores a touchdown during the 1980 season. OKLAHOMAN ARCHIVE PHOTO
Former Oklahoma quarterback J.C. Watts scores a touchdown during the 1980 season. OKLAHOMAN ARCHIVE PHOTO

NORMAN — I was hanging out with some friends Saturday night, and somehow the discussion turned to great football names.

That conversation inspired this, my take on Oklahoma’s All-Name team. When I began researching, I remembered the Tulsa World’s Guerin Emig put together an All-Name team last summer, so be sure to check his out, too.

I came across lots of deserving names; so many, in fact, that I went ahead and made a second team, too.

Do you agree? Disagree? Are there any glaring omissions? Let me know in the comments or shoot me an email at

Julius Caesar Watts (1978-80)
RB: Joe Don Looney (1962)
RB: Elvis Peacock (1974-77)
FB: Horace Ivory (1975-76)
WR: Tinker Owens (1972-75)
WR: Antwone Savage (1999-2002)
TE: Forest Valora (1977-80)
OL: Roy “Soupy” Smoot (1918-21)
OL: Plato Andros (1941, 1946)
OL: Stockar McDougle (1998-99)
OL: Bubba Burcham (1997-00)
OL: Phil Loadholt (2007-08)
Gilford “Cactus Face” Duggan (1937-39)
DL: Myrle Greathouse (1942, 1946-48)
DL: Granville Liggins (1965-67)
DL: Jimbo Elrod (1973-75)
LB: Harry Hettmannsperger (1966)
LB: Rocky Calmus (1998-2001)
LB: Rufus Alexander (2004-06)
DB: Dewey “Snorter” Luster (1917-20)
DB: Steve O’Shaunghnessy (1969-71)
DB: Clyde Powers (1971-73)
DB: Chijioke Onyenegecha (2004-05)
Special teams
Uwe von Schamann (1976-78)
P: Wahoo McDaniel (1957-59)
KR: Buster Rhymes (1980-84)

Jamelle Holieway (1985-88)
RB: Kenyon Rasheed (1989-92)
RB: Renaldo Works (2000-03)
FB: Buck McPhail (1950-52)
WR: Virgil Boll (1961-63)
WR: Ahmed Kabba (1997-98)
TE: Joe Jon Finley (2004-07)
OL: Cash Gentry (1933-34)
OL: Sammy Jack Claphan (1976-78)
OL: Silas Satepauhoodle (1983-84)
OL: Caesar Rentie (1984-87)
OL: Duke Robinson (2005-08)
Lucious Selmon (1971-73)
DL: Orlando Flanagan (1980-81)
DL: Dusty Dvoracek (2001-05)
DL: C.J. Ah You (2005-06)
LB: Aubrey Beavers (1992-94)
LB: Torrance Marshall (1999-2000)
LB: Teddy Lehman (2000-03)
DB: Darrell Royal (1946-49)
DB: Basil Banks (1977-80)
DB: Gana Joseph (1996-98)
DB: Ontei Jones (1997-2000)
Special teams
Raphael Boudreau (1935-38)
P: Huel Hamm (1940-42)
KR: Orville Mathews (1939-41)

15 Show / Hide Archive Comments

by Jason Kersey
OU Sports Reporter
Jason Kersey became The Oklahoman's OU football beat writer in May 2012 after a year covering high school sports and OSU recruiting. Before joining the newspaper in November 2006 as a part-time results clerk, he covered high school football for...
+ show more


  1. 1
    This Russell Westbrook Promo Will Get You Jacked For His 2015-16 Season
  2. 2
    Lawton product Mike Warren has record-setting day for Iowa State
  3. 3
    Slain man's body discovered northwest of downtown Tulsa
  4. 4
    Beware of new smart chip credit card scams
  5. 5
    What is phubbing, and is it ruining your relationships?
+ show more


× Trending ou Article