Share “NBA Says Kevin Durant Basket Shouldn’t...”

Thunder Rumblings  

NewsOK | BLOGS

NBA Says Kevin Durant Basket Shouldn’t Have Counted

by Darnell Mayberry Published: February 7, 2012

The NBA has released a statement saying that Kevin Durant’s basket with six seconds remaining in regulation of last night’s 111-107 Thunder win at Portland should not have counted. Durant was awarded two points when an official ruled that a blocked shot by LaMarcus Aldridge was goaltending.

Here’s a better look.

With six seconds remaining in the fourth quarter, the Blazers’ LaMarcus Aldridge was called for goaltending on a shot attempted by the Thunder’s Kevin Durant. With the benefit of slow motion replay following the game, it has been determined that Aldridge made contact with the ball just before the ball hit the backboard. Therefore, this should have been ruled a good block and goaltending was the incorrect call. (As determined by the NBA’s Competition Committee, referees may not use instant replay on goaltending calls.)”

-DM-

6 Show / Hide Archive Comments

by Darnell Mayberry
OKC Thunder Senior Reporter
Darnell Mayberry grew up in Langston, Okla. and is now in his third stint in the Sooner state. After a year and a half at Bishop McGuinness High, he finished his prep years in Falls Church, Va., before graduating from Norfolk State University in...
+ show more


AROUND THE WEB

  1. 1
    Doctor to Be Sentenced for Giving Chemo to Cancer-Free Patients
  2. 2
    Marcus Smart talks leadership, improvement following Celtics' summer league opener
  3. 3
    Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma insurance rates might go up 31 percent in 2016: Report
  4. 4
    Thomas Piketty has wise words on German hypocrisy and how to solve the Greek debt crisis
  5. 5
    Report: Celtics trade Gerald Wallace to Warriors for David Lee
+ show more