Share “ComicsPRO announces nominees for award”



ComicsPRO announces nominees for award

by Matthew Price Modified: April 22, 2013 at 2:30 pm •  Published: January 25, 2010
ComicsPRO announced the nominees for its first Industry Appreciation Award, which spotlights those who have made contributions to the direct market.   Full release below.
From ComicsPRO:
ComicsPRO Announces Nominees for Industry Appreciation Award
Retailer Group Seeks to Honor Efforts to Improve Comics Specialty Market
The direct market remains the way most comic-book stories get from creator to fan. ComicsPRO, the largest organization of direct-market retailers, wants to honor those people who stand in that gap and help smooth that process. From publishers, distributors, marketers and more, a lot of people are involved in bringing the stories we all love to market. ComicsPRO would like to stand up and recognize those who have been simply the best at what they do, making the comic-book direct market more successful for all of us.
ComicsPRO has created The ComicsPRO Industry Appreciation Award to honor these individuals, and the first winners of the award will be announced at this year’s ComicsPRO Annual Members’ meeting in Memphis, TN from March 25-27.
There are two categories for the Industry Appreciation Award, one for professionals who are still active in the business of comics and one for those who have passed away and left an indelible mark on the profession of comic book specialty retailing. After a period of accepting nominations from members, the ComicsPRO Board of Directors presents this final ballot. Members will vote for one Award recipient from each category.
The 2010 nominees for the ComicsPRO Industry Appreciation Award:
o Neil Gaiman
o Steve Geppi
o Paul Levitz
o Dave Sim
o Bob Wayne
The 2010 nominees in the posthumous category for the ComicsPRO Industry Appreciation Award:
o Will Eisner
o Carol Kalish
o Phil Seuling
o Julius Schwartz
“ComicsPRO member retailers have been enthusiastic in working to make this award a reality,” said Joe Field, ComicsPRO President and the owner of Flying Colors Comics in Concord CA. “This award is unique in that it specifically highlights the contributions of professionals who have made—and still make— Hall-of-Fame level contributions to the business of comics.”
“The ComicsPRO Annual Membership meeting is the most business-focused of the meetings and conventions on the industry calendar,” said Amanda Emmert, ComicsPRO’s Communications Coordinator. “At the meeting, ComicsPRO members want to highlight the achievements of people who have made this industry a better and more successful place to work.”
Brief biographical notes that accompany the ballots for the award can be found on
ComicsPRO is the retailer trade and advocacy group with more than 140 members comprising more than 180 storefronts in 36 states and six Canadian provinces. The goals of ComicsPRO are to be the united voice of advocacy for direct market retailers, to provide educational and mentoring opportunities to current and future retailers, and to offer opportunities to reduce some of the mutual fixed costs retailers incur. Information and membership applications are available at
by Matthew Price
Features Editor
Features Editor Matthew Price has worked for The Oklahoman since 2000. He’s a University of Oklahoma graduate who has also worked at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette and was a Dow Jones Newspaper Fund intern for the Dallas Morning News. He’s...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Florida State Seminoles QB De'Andre Johnson dismissed by program after video shows him striking...
  2. 2
    Why People Post Annoying Status Updates on Facebook
  3. 3
    'Can't Buy Me Love' Actress Dies at 43
  4. 4
    Bill Cosby said he got drugs to give women for sex
  5. 5
    Reports: David West agrees to veteran minimum deal to play for Spurs
+ show more