Varsity High School Blogs


Jenkins Award winners named

by Ryan Aber Modified: May 13, 2013 at 4:35 pm •  Published: January 19, 2012

The Warren Spahn Award Gala organizers announced this year’s winners of the Ferguson Jenkins Awards on Thursday.
The awards honor the state’s best baseball and softball players and coaches.
Baseball winners are Broken Arrow’s Jacob Evans, Carl Albert’s Taylor Hawkins, Stillwater’s Corey Hassel, Deer Creek’s Isaac Hellbusch and Edmond Santa Fe’s Ty Hensley.
Softball winners are Tulsa Union’s Nicole Brady, McAlester’s Taylor Dewberry, Edmond Santa Fe’s Madison Martin, Blanchard’s Leslie Miller and Tuttle’s Caitlin Sill.
Guthrie baseball coach Jon Chappell and Tulsa Union softball coach Jerry Pease won coaching honors.
The awards will be presented at the gala Jan. 26 at the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Museum, the same ceremony where Dodgers starter Clayton Kershaw will be awarded the Warren Spahn Award.

by Ryan Aber
Ryan Aber has worked for The Oklahoman since 2006, covering high schools, the Oklahoma City RedHawks, the Oklahoma City Barons and OU football recruiting. An Oklahoma City native, Aber graduated from Northeastern State. Before joining The...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Watch This Guy Get The Store's First iPhone 6, Then Immediately Drop It
  2. 2
    iPhone 6: Apple Fans Line Up Around the World
  3. 3
    News 9: Car Slams Into Oklahoma City Home
  4. 4
    Thunder No. 7 in ESPN's 'Ultimate Team Rankings'
  5. 5
    This Might Explain Why Diet Soda Drinkers Are Often Overweight
+ show more