Parties Extra  



by Helen Ford Wallace Modified: May 17, 2013 at 12:28 pm •  Published: November 28, 2007

CLICK HERE for Parties Extra! Podcast : Judy Love’s holiday parties


Mary FitzSimons, Christy and Jim Everest and Chris Purcell were at the reception following the Governor’s Arts Award ceremony at the State Capitol. Christy Everest received the Governor’s Arts Award. (Photo by Helen Ford Wallace)

The State Capitol’s fourth floor rotunda was filled with people as the 32nd annual Governor’s Arts Awards were presented. The awards were given to 16 people and four businesses for exceptional work in the arts. A reception for the honorees was held on the first floor .

Oklahoma Arts Council chairman Jim Tolbert was director of ceremonies and Gov. Brad Henry presented the awards. Interim Executive Director of the Oklahoma Arts Council Suzanne Tate gave remarks before the presentation.

Award winners were Christy Everest and Nancy Meinig, Governor’s Arts Awards: Betty Price, Liddy Doenges Leadership in the Arts Award; Chesapeake Energy, Ideal Homes, Willis Granite Products, the Earl Sneed Business in the Arts Awards; Joan Gilmore, the Bill Crawford Memorial Media in the Arts Award.

Also Dr. Jack Herron, Fred Neuman, William”Bill” Scoggan, Ann Tomlins, the Arts and Education Award; Kathy Buxton, The Garber Theater Board, Dr. Frank Letcher, Jose Martinez, Christy McCollough Northcutt, Jerry Speck, the Community Service Awards; Maxine Thomason, George Nigh Mayor’s Award; Bill Grant, Special Recognition Award, and Wanda Otey Westheimer, the Marilyn Douglass Memorial Award.

Betty Price is interviewed at the reception after the awards ceremony where she was recognized for the Liddy Doenges Leadership In The Arts Award. (Photo by Helen Ford Wallace).

Oklahoma Arts Council Chairman Jim Tolbert was at the reception. He was director of ceremonies for the presentation. ( Photo by Helen Ford Wallace).

The Oklahoma State Capitol was a great place for the Governor’s Arts Awards to be presented. Ceremonies were held on the fourth floor in the rotunda. ( Photo by Helen Ford Wallace.)

Donna Vogel, Sarah Hogan and Jean Harbison, all supporters of the Arts, were at the presentation of the Govenor’s Arts Awards and the reception. (Photo by Helen Ford Wallace).

Nancy Sharrock, Joan Gilmore and James Pickel talk at the reception following the Governor’s Arts Awards. Gilmore won the Bill Crawford Memorial Media In The Arts Award. (Photo by Helen Ford Wallace).

View photo gallery CLICK HERE

CLICK HERE to tell us about your Party!

by Helen Ford Wallace
Society Editor
Helen Ford Wallace is a columnist covering society-related events/news for The Oklahoman. She puts local parties online with daily updates. She creates, maintains and runs a Parties blog which includes web casts. She is an online web editor for...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Dispute: Was Cecil the lion's brother, Jericho, killed?
  2. 2
    An Oklahoma Immigrant's Experience, Recast As Noir, In 'Dragonfish'
  3. 3
    Summer well spent: Youths shadow professionals in mentoring program
  4. 4
    Norman residents disturbed after seeing vulgar, racist graffiti on homes, vehicles
  5. 5
    Vinita police chief: Extreme sunburn case still under investigation, drawing international media...
+ show more


× Trending life Article