Share “Miranda Lambert's Pistol Annies, Taylor...”

BAM's Blog  


Miranda Lambert's Pistol Annies, Taylor Swift, Arcade Fire and more featured on "The Hunger Games" soundtrack

by Brandy McDonnell Published: February 15, 2012
Pistol Annies
Pistol Annies

The Pistol Annies, Tishomingo resident Miranda Lambert’s all-girl country trio, will be featured on the star-studded and highly anticipated soundtrack to “The Hunger Games,” according to

The Annies – which also include Ashley Monroe and Angaleena Presley – are contributing a song called “Run Daddy Run” to the soundtrack.

The soundtrack’s first single, “Safe & Sound” from Taylor Swift and The Civil Wars, was released back in December and peaked at No. 30 on the Hot 100. The music video for the single was released this week; to watch it, click here.

Swift is providing another song, “Eyes Wide Open,” while the album also will feature a double-dose of The Civil Wars, who will contribute a second track called “Kingdom Come.”

Indie rockers Arcade Fire will have the track “Abraham’s Daughter” on the soundtrack, and the band penned the instrumental “Horn of Plenty” for the album, too.

Kid Cudi, The Decemberists, Glen Hansard, Neko Case, Carolina Chocolate Drops, The Low Anthem, Punch Brothers, The Secret Sisters, Birdy, Jayme Dee and Ella Mae Bowen also will be featured on the soundtrack.

The soundtrack will be released March 20, and the film will open in theaters on March 23.

Oscar-nominated it girl Jennifer Lawrence (“Winter’s Bone,” “X-Men: First Class”) will fight to the death in the film version of Suzanne Collins’ best-selling novel, the first of a trilogy that has sold 16 million copies in the U.S. alone. In the not-too-distant future, North American society has collapsed and been replaced by Panem, in which every year two teenagers from each of the country’s 12 districts are summoned to the corrupt Capitol to participate in the deadly “Hunger Games,” a spectacle televised throughout the land.

The movie co-stars Josh Hutcherson, Elizabeth Banks, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Donald Sutherland, Stanley Tucci and Lenny Kravitz.

See the soundtrack’s track listing after the break.

“The Hunger Games” soundtrack track listing:

1. Taylor Swift: “Safe & Sound” [ft. the Civil Wars]

2. Taylor Swift: “Eyes Wide Open”

3. Arcade Fire: “Abraham’s Daughter”

4. Kid Cudi: “The Ruler & the Killer”

5. Miranda Lambert: “Run Daddy Run” [ft. Pistol Annies]

6. The Civil Wars: “Kingdom Come”

7. The Decemberists: “One Engine”

8. Glen Hansard: “Take the Heartland”

9. The Low Anthem: “Lover Is Childlike”

10. Punch Brothers: “Dark Days”

11. The Secret Sisters: “Tomorrow Will Be Kinder”

12. Birdy: “Just a Game”

13. Ella Mae Bowen: “Oh Come and Sing”

14. Jayme Dee: “Rules”

15. Carolina Chocolate Drops: “Reaping Day”

16. Neko Case: “Give Me Something I’ll Remember”


2 Show / Hide Archive Comments

by Brandy McDonnell
Entertainment Reporter
Brandy McDonnell, also known by her initials BAM, writes stories and reviews on movies, music, the arts and other aspects of entertainment. She is NewsOK’s top blogger: Her 4-year-old entertainment news blog, BAM’s Blog, has notched more than 1...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Texas State student rides her Barbie Jeep around campus after DWI arrest, Internet loves it
  2. 2
    Edward Snowden says Hillary Clinton 'ridiculous' to think emails were secure
  3. 3
    Man arrested for threatening to 'kill all white people' in La Plata, Md.
  4. 4
    11-year-old shoots, kills suspected home invader
  5. 5
    Pentagon Now Says Army Mistakenly Sent Live Anthrax to All 50 States
+ show more


× Trending ae Article