Share “Video: All-star band The Time Jumpers,...”

BAM's Blog  


Video: All-star band The Time Jumpers, including Vince Gill, signed to Rounder Records

by Brandy McDonnell Published: June 26, 2012

Rounder Records is pleased to announce the signing of Western swing/country group The Time Jumpers. Formed in 1998 by a group of Nashville’s recording studio elite, the band began just as a jam session for the musicians to blow off steam and play their favorite songs. Soon they were playing gigs in the Nashville area and were offered a regular slot at the Station Inn every Monday night.

The critics loved the show and as word spread, The Time Jumpers became the “show that stars go to see,” according to today’s announcement. On any given Monday, stars such as Reba McEntire, Bonnie Raitt , Norah Jones, Toby Keith, Sheryl Crow, Elvis Costello and even Robert Plant have been known to pull up a chair and sit in with the band. The band continues to play every week, but has recently moved venues to 3rd and Lindsley since it was drawing crowds too large for the Station Inn’s capacity.

Vince Gill (AP file)
Vince Gill (AP file)

The group’s make-up has changed over the years. The current lineup of 11 singers and musicians includes “Ranger” Doug Green of Riders in the Sky as well as these highly-regarded Nashville session and touring musicians Paul Franklin, Jeff Taylor, Kenny Sears, Andy Reiss, Dennis Crouch, Dawn Sears, Joe Spivey, and newest members Country Music Hall of Famer and Oklahoma native Vince Gill, Larry Franklin and Billy Thomas.

Of the signing, founding member and vocalist/fiddler Kenny Sears said in the announcement, “We are so excited to be signing with Rounder Records. We have all been fans of this label for a long time. The fact that they are excited about our project makes us twice as excited: lots of excitement!

“We’re very proud of this album; it’s the first time we’ve been able to record our own songs in a studio setting. We all look forward to our new relationship with Rounder Records.”

Check out a performance of “I Ain’t Got Nothin’ but the Blues” posted above.

In 2007, the group recorded a live album titled “Jumpin’ Time” that was nominated for two Grammy awards. The Time Jumpers are managed by Fitzgerald Hartley and their first studio album, and Rounder debut, is expected Sept. 11.

The Time Jumpers are

Dennis Crouch – upright bass

Larry Franklin – fiddle

Paul Franklin – steel guitar

Vince Gill – vocals, electric guitar, acoustic guitar

“Ranger Doug” Green – vocals, archtop guitar

Dawn Sears – vocals

Kenny Sears – vocal, fiddle

Joe Spivey – fiddle, vocals

Andy Reiss – electric guitar

Jeff Taylor – accordion, piano

Billy Thomas – drums, vocals


by Brandy McDonnell
Entertainment Reporter
Brandy McDonnell, also known by her initials BAM, writes stories and reviews on movies, music, the arts and other aspects of entertainment. She is NewsOK’s top blogger: Her 4-year-old entertainment news blog, BAM’s Blog, has notched more than 1...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Verdigris Public Schools student being treated for unconfirmed viral meningitis
  2. 2
    Escaped Vinita inmate caught in Oklahoma City, back in custody
  3. 3
    Demoted high-ranking Tulsa Sheriff's Office official has resigned, fourth to leave since Eric...
  4. 4
    Owasso man arrested after police find marijuana growing operation in his home
  5. 5
    Best sex education video ever, made by a Brit
+ show more


× Trending ae Article