Share “Vince Gill, Roger Miller to receive...”

BAM's Blog  


Vince Gill, Roger Miller to receive Special Awards at Monday's ACM Honors

by Brandy McDonnell Published: September 23, 2012
Vince Gill
Vince Gill
Roger Miller
Roger Miller

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Norman-born and Oklahoma City-bred Country Music Hall of Famer Vince Gill will receive the Career Achievement Award and Erick-raised singer-songwriter Roger Miller will posthumously garner the Poet’s Award Monday night at the Sixth Annual ACM Honors.

The ACM Honors are dedicated to recognizing the special honorees and off-camera category winners from the 47th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards. Country music superstar Dierks Bentley will host and perform at the event, which will take place at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

Artists scheduled to perform include Luke Bryan, Ashley Monroe, Kellie Pickler and Dailey & Vincent. This year marks Bentley’s first time hosting the event and the third time the ceremony will be at the Ryman Auditorium. The evening is presented by City National Bank.

Along with Gill and Miller, Special Award recipients include Bobby Braddock, Kenny Chesney, Emmylou Harris, Gayle Holcomb, Alan Jackson, Billy Sherrill, Ricky Skaggs and Dwight Yoakam.

Special Awards Recipients:

· Bobby Braddock – Poet’s Award

· Kenny Chesney – Crystal Milestone Award

· Vince Gill – Career Achievement Award

· Emmylou Harris – Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award

· Gayle Holcomb – Mae Boren Axton Award

· Alan Jackson – Jim Reeves International Award

· Roger Miller (posthumously) – Poet’s Award

· Billy Sherrill – Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award

· Ricky Skaggs – Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award

· Dwight Yoakam – Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award

MBI (Musician/Bandleader/Instrumentalist) Award Winners:

· Stuart Duncan – Fiddle Player of the Year

· Shannon Forrest – Percussionist/Drummer of the Year

· Paul Franklin – Steel Guitar Player of the Year

· Kenny Greenberg – Guitarist of the Year

· Aubrey Haynie – Specialty Instrument(s) Player of the Year

· John Hobbs – Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year

· Frank Liddell – Producer of the Year

· Justin Niebank – Audio Engineer of the Year

· Michael Rhodes – Bass Player of the Year

Industry Award Winners:

· Jimmy Jay, Jayson Promotions, Inc. – Don Romeo Talent Buyer of the Year

· Brian O’Connell, Live Nation – Promoter of the Year

· Billy Bob’s Texas (Ft. Worth, TX) – Nightclub of the Year

· Bridgestone Arena (Nashville, TN) – Venue of the Year

· Mandalay Bay Hotel & Casino (Las Vegas, NV) – Casino of the Year

Songwriter of the Year Winner:

Dallas Davidson – Songwriter of the Year


Artists scheduled to perform include Dierks Bentley, Luke Bryan, Ashley Monroe, Kellie Pickler and Dailey & Vincent, with more to come! This is Bentley’s first time hosting the event and the third time the ceremony will be held at the Ryman Auditorium.   The evening is presented by City National Bank.

3 Show / Hide Archive Comments

by Brandy McDonnell
Entertainment Reporter
Brandy McDonnell, also known by her initials BAM, writes stories and reviews on movies, music, the arts and other aspects of entertainment. She is NewsOK’s top blogger: Her 4-year-old entertainment news blog, BAM’s Blog, has notched more than 1...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Police return woman’s stolen car — with drugs, weapons added
  2. 2
    Judge Says NSA Program Is Unconstitutional, 'It's Time to Move'
  3. 3
    Teens who take nude selfie photos face adult sex charges
  4. 4
    Verdigris Public Schools student being treated for unconfirmed viral meningitis
  5. 5
    Escaped Vinita inmate caught in Oklahoma City, back in custody
+ show more


× Trending ae Article