Share “Gabe Ikard and Aaron Colvin are Oklahoma's...”

OU Sports


Gabe Ikard and Aaron Colvin are Oklahoma's two representatives on the 2013 preseason All-Big 12 team

by Jason Kersey Published: July 17, 2013
Oklahoma's Gabe Ikard was named to the 2013 preseason All-Big 12 team Wednesday. PHOTO BY STEVE SISNEY, THE OKLAHOMAN ARCHIVE
Oklahoma's Gabe Ikard was named to the 2013 preseason All-Big 12 team Wednesday. PHOTO BY STEVE SISNEY, THE OKLAHOMAN ARCHIVE

NORMAN — The Big 12 Conference released its preseason media All-Big 12 first team Wednesday, and only two Oklahoma players made the squad — senior center Gabe Ikard and senior cornerback Aaron Colvin.

This year’s team represents only the fourth time in coach Bob Stoops’ 15 seasons that Oklahoma has had this few preseason all-conference selections.

Each of those three years, though, OU exceeded expectations.

OU had no selections before Stoops’ first season in 1999, when the resurgent Sooners went 7-5; just one pick before Oklahoma’s 2000 national-title run; and two picks in 2006, before Stoops won the fourth of his now eight Big 12 titles.

Here’s a year-by-year look at Oklahoma on the media’s preseason All-Big 12 teams throughout the Stoops era:
1999: 0
2000: 1 (LB Rocky Calmus)
2001: 5 (LB Rocky Calmus, PK Tim Duncan, P Jeff Ferguson, OL Frank Romero, DB Roy Williams)
2002: 5 (DL Tommie Harris, LB Teddy Lehman, TE Trent Smith, DB Derrick Strait, DB Andre Woolfolk)
2003: 5 (OL Jamaal Brown, DB Brandon Everage, DL Tommie Harris, LB Teddy Lehman, DB Derrick Strait)
2004: 9 (OL Jamaal Brown, OL Vince Carter, WR Mark Clayton, DL Dan Cody, PK Trey DiCarlo, DL Dusty Dvoracek, DB Donte Nicholson, PR Antonio Perkins, QB Jason White)
2005: 5 (LB Rufus Alexander, DL Larry Birdine, DL Dusty Dvoracek, OL Davin Joseph, RB Adrian Peterson)
2006: 2 (LB Rufus Alexander, RB Adrian Peterson)
2007: 3 (PK Garrett Hartley, OL Duke Robinson, DB/PR Reggie Smith)
2008: 6 (OL Jon Cooper, DL Auston English, DB Nic Harris, OL Phil Loadholt, RB DeMarco Murray, OL Duke Robinson)
2009: 8 (DL Jeremy Beal, QB Sam Bradford, DB Dominique Franks, TE Jermaine Gresham, LB Travis Lewis, DL Gerald McCoy, RB DeMarco Murray, OL Trent Williams)
2010: 6 (DL Jeremy Beal, WR/PR Ryan Broyles, DB Quinton Carter, OL Stephen Good, LB Travis Lewis, RB DeMarco Murray)
2011: 9 (DL Frank Alexander, WR/PR Ryan Broyles, RB Roy Finch, OL Ben Habern, DB Demontre Hurst, QB Landry Jones, DL Ronnell Lewis, LB Travis Lewis)
2012: 5 (OL Ben Habern, OL Gabe Ikard, DB Tony Jefferson, DL Jamarkus McFarland, WR Kenny Stills)
2013: 2 (DB Aaron Colvin, OL Gabe Ikard)

by Jason Kersey
OU Sports Reporter
Jason Kersey became The Oklahoman's OU football beat writer in May 2012 after a year covering high school sports and OSU recruiting. Before joining the newspaper in November 2006 as a part-time results clerk, he covered high school football for...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    What color is this dress: Gold and white or blue and black?
  2. 2
    Lawsuit claims jailer raped two former Ottawa County Jail detainees
  3. 3
    While Inhofe throws snowball, little town in Oklahoma plays big role in climate debate
  4. 4
    The planned hotels for downtown Tulsa are still coming -- mostly
  5. 5
    Confessions of a cruise ship crew member
+ show more