Share “College football: San Antonio, New Orleans...”

College football: San Antonio, New Orleans among cities bidding on 2016, 2017 championships Published: July 26, 2013

At least seven cities already have decided to bid on the 2016 and 2017 College Football championships, sources told ESPN.

Only Arlington, Texas, and Tampa, Fla., bid on the inaugural championship. It was awarded to AT&T Stadium in Arlington and will be held Jan. 12, 2015.

That won't be the case for the next two national title games. There will be a lot more competition for the games on Jan. 11, 2016, and Jan. 9, 2017.

Cities that definitely will bid for the Jan. 11, 2016, game: Glendale, Ariz.; Jacksonville, Fla.; New Orleans; San Antonio; and Tampa.

Cities that will bid for the Jan. 9, 2017, game: Arlington; Jacksonville; Miami; New Orleans; San Antonio; and Tampa.

See this story on