Share “Multiple Cowboys, Sooners earn All-Big 12...”

Multiple Cowboys, Sooners earn All-Big 12 basketball honors

staff reports Published: March 9, 2014

Oklahoma State guard Marcus Smart, Iowa State forward Melvin Ejim and Kansas guard Andrew Wiggins headline the Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Team, released Sunday by the conference.

Smart is one of just two players in the Big 12 top earn First Team and All-Defensive Team honors, joining Juwan Staten of West Virginia. Smart was also one of two unanimous selections to the All-Defensive Team along with Kansas' Joel Embiid. Smart also earned All-Big 12 First Team and All-Defensive Team status for the second consecutive year.

Ejim was named the Player of the Year in the Big 12 and Wiggins was honored as the Freshman of the Year. Kansas and Iowa State each brought home two individual honors, as DeAndre Kane of ISU was named the Newcomer of the Year and Embiid the league's Defensive Player of the Year.

The Sixth Man of the Year Award was split between a Sooner and a Cowboy -- OU forward Tyler Neal and OSU guard Phil Forte share the award. Texas' Rick Barnes was named Coach of the Year.

OU and OSU each placed a player on the All-Big 12 Second Team. Markel Brown of OSU and Buddy Hield of OU were each selected. OU forward Cameron Clark was named All-Big 12 Third Team.

OU's Ryan Spangler and OSU's Le'Bryan Nash each earned All-Big 12 Honorable Mention status.

See this story on


  1. 1
    Chipotle looks for these 13 qualities in every job candidate
  2. 2
    5 common pieces of job search advice you should ignore
  3. 3
    26 CEOs who earn at least 500x what their median employee makes
  4. 4
    Officer Whips, Kicks K-9 In Video, Police Investigating
  5. 5
    Former OU wide receiver Ryan Broyles cut by Detroit Lions
+ show more


× Trending ou Article