What you'll see during supersonic skydive

Associated Press Modified: October 8, 2012 at 4:32 pm •  Published: October 8, 2012
Advertisement
;

ROSWELL, N.M. (AP) — When Felix Baumgartner makes his 23-mile supersonic skydive over southeastern New Mexico Tuesday morning, more than two dozen high-definition and high-resolution digital cameras will be recording the event. Some views will be streamed live, but with a 20-second delay.

WHAT WILL YOU SEE?

Video and still cameras attached to the capsule will record his jump. Cameras on his pressure suit, a helicopter and ground-based tracking system will capture his descent.

HOW MANY CAMERAS?

Some 30 video and still cameras in total, including five attached to the thighs and chest of his pressure suit.

WILL THE FEED BE LIVE?

Organizers of the Red Bull-sponsored event are promising a live feed through their web site, http://www.redbullstratos.com/ live from all cameras except those on Baumgartner's body. But organizers said there will be a 20-second delay in their broadcast of footage in case of a tragic accident.

WHAT COULD GO WRONG?

The balloon could rip. Problems with his pressure suit could cause a gruesome death.

WHEN DOES IT START?

The live feed is set to begin at 6:30 a.m. MDT/8:30 a.m. EDT.

WHEN IS LAUNCH?

Approximate launch is 6:57 a.m. MDT/8:57 a.m. EDT, weather permitting.

HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE?

The ascent could take up to three hours. He is expected to land between 10-10:30 a.m. MDT/12-12:30 p.m. EDT.



Trending Now


AROUND THE WEB

  1. 1
    Facebook Post Saves Drowning Teen
  2. 2
    Saturday's front page of the New York Times sports section is simple: LeBron James and transactions
  3. 3
    The 19th-century health scare that told women to worry about "bicycle face"
  4. 4
    Sex Valley: Tech's booming prostitution trade
  5. 5
    Colorado Is Consuming Way More Pot Than Anyone Ever Believed
+ show more