Share “Romney wins all 5 Nebraska electoral votes”

Romney wins all 5 Nebraska electoral votes

Associated Press Modified: November 6, 2012 at 10:46 pm •  Published: November 6, 2012

Mitt Romney has continued a five-decade run of dominance by Republican presidential candidates in Nebraska.

And the GOP picked up a seat in the U.S. Senate when Deb Fischer beat former Democratic Gov. Bob Kerrey in Tuesday's election.

Republican Reps. Jeff Fortenberry and Adrian Smith also won re-election, and the GOP was ensured of holding a majority in the 49-seat Legislature.

Romney won all five of the state's electoral votes, preventing President Barack Obama from plucking one away as he did four years ago.

The most closely watched contest was Fischer's victory over Kerrey. He had seemed to be narrowing a deficit in recent weeks with an endorsement from former GOP U.S. Sen. Chuck Hagel.