Share “Auburn's Malzahn wins coach of the year award”

Auburn's Malzahn wins coach of the year award

Published on NewsOK Modified: January 17, 2014 at 2:15 pm •  Published: January 17, 2014

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) — Auburn's Gus Malzahn has been named national coach of the year by the Over the Mountain Touchdown Club.

The Birmingham group announced the winner Friday. Malzahn led Auburn to a 12-2 record and into the BCS championship game against Florida State in his debut season.

The Tigers' turnaround from a 3-9 season matched the biggest in FBS history.

The other finalists were Duke's David Cutcliffe, Baylor's Art Briles, Michigan State's Mark Dantonio and Florida State's Jimbo Fisher.

The winner is chosen by the touchdown club and members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

It's the fifth time the award has been presented. Former Auburn coach Gene Chizik won in 2010.

Bowden, a former Florida State coach, will present the award on March 2.


  1. 1
    Dispute: Was Cecil the lion's brother, Jericho, killed?
  2. 2
    An Oklahoma Immigrant's Experience, Recast As Noir, In 'Dragonfish'
  3. 3
    Summer well spent: Youths shadow professionals in mentoring program
  4. 4
    Norman residents disturbed after seeing vulgar, racist graffiti on homes, vehicles
  5. 5
    Vinita police chief: Extreme sunburn case still under investigation, drawing international media...
+ show more


× Trending sports Article