Share “Barry Sanders' 1988 season voted the best...”

Barry Sanders' 1988 season voted the best in college football history Modified: August 8, 2014 at 11:00 am •  Published: August 8, 2014

It was Barry Sanders and it wasn't even close.

The legendary OSU running back and NFL Hall of Famer defeated former Texas quarterback Vince Young in the voting for "The Season," ESPN's March Madness-style bracket created to determine the best individual college football season of all-time.

Sanders crushed Young, taking 72 percent of the vote. En route to the tournament win, Sanders took down Tulsa's Howard Twilley, Pittsburgh's Tony Dorsett, and Auburn's Cam Newton, with the narrowest margin of victory 54 percent against Young in the final.

From ESPN: "In our bracket, Sanders was just as untouchable, winning the voting in every state in all four rounds except for two: Alabama vs. Cam Newton in the semifinals and Texas vs. Vince Young in the finals."

See this story on


  1. 1
    Norman residents disturbed after seeing vulgar, racist graffiti on homes, vehicles
  2. 2
    Vinita police chief: Extreme sunburn case still under investigation, drawing international media...
  3. 3
    Hundreds pack memorial service for man killed at north Tulsa park
  4. 4
    There’s a New Restaurant That Specializes in Potato-Chip Sandwiches
  5. 5
    The most popular liquor in every state
+ show more


× Trending osu Article