Share “Big 12 football coaches excited by Cowboys...”

Big 12 football coaches excited by Cowboys Stadium's role in College Football Playoff

by Jason Kersey Published: April 23, 2013

Oklahoma traveled to its opponent's home state for three of its four BCS national championship game appearances.

The Sooners battled Florida State and Florida in Miami for the 2000 and 2008 national titles, respectively, and lost to LSU in the 2003 title game, which was played in New Orleans, just a short drive from the Tigers' campus. Oklahoma's other appearance — a 55-19 loss to USC — was also in Miami, one of the Bowl Championship Series' four rotating national-title cities, which also include Pasadena, Calif., and Glendale, Ariz.

Should OU reach the first championship game of the newly dubbed “College Football Playoff” in January 2015, it will likely play in a much friendlier atmosphere. The BCS conference commissioners are meeting in California this week to iron out details of the upcoming four-team playoff. Among the announcements expected over the next few days is the first title-game site, which will probably be Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

“I think it's really exciting for this region and all the schools in this region to have Dallas as one of those sites,” Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops said Tuesday on the Big 12 coaches' spring teleconference. “Obviously, everyone knows what a great, quality, awesome stadium it is. Then the location for us is an advantage, or should be.

“We've been in a couple of national championship sites where the crowd is maybe 80/20 or 70/30 and you feel like you're playing an away game, and the other team is playing a home game.”

The BCS commissioners announced a new name — College Football Playoff — for the new system to decide major college football's champion Tuesday night. In the coming days, they'll also reveal the first championship game site and the six rotating semifinal sites for the playoff's first 12 seasons.

On Thursday, the commissioners are expected to discuss the selection committee that will choose the playoff's four teams each year.

Cowboys Stadium will be awarded the first national-title game, scheduled for Monday, Jan. 12, 2015, according to an report. A bid from Tampa, Fla., was also strongly considered.

Continue reading this story on the...

by Jason Kersey
OU Sports Reporter
Jason Kersey became The Oklahoman's OU football beat writer in May 2012 after a year covering high school sports and OSU recruiting. Before joining the newspaper in November 2006 as a part-time results clerk, he covered high school football for...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Crowdfunding For Real Estate: Buyer Beware
  2. 2
    10 affordable countries that budget travelers can't miss
  3. 3
    These wearables double as travel gadgets
  4. 4
    Police return woman’s stolen car — with drugs, weapons added
  5. 5
    Judge Says NSA Program Is Unconstitutional, 'It's Time to Move'
+ show more


× Trending ou Article