Share “Big 12 football: OU, OSU place combined...”

Big 12 football: OU, OSU place combined eight players on All-Big 12 football team

by Ryan Aber Published: December 11, 2013

photo - OSU's Justin Gilbert is one of four Cowboys who were named first-team All-Big 12 by the league's coaches. Photo by Nate Billings, The Oklahoman.
OSU's Justin Gilbert is one of four Cowboys who were named first-team All-Big 12 by the league's coaches. Photo by Nate Billings, The Oklahoman.

Both Oklahoma and Oklahoma State placed four players on the All-Big 12 Conference football teams, released Wednesday.

The selections were made by the league's coaches, with coaches not allowed to vote for their own players.

Fullback Trey Millard, offensive lineman Gabe Ikard, defensive lineman Charles Tapper and defensive back Aaron Colvin earned first-team honors for Oklahoma.

For Oklahoma State, offensive lineman Parker Graham, defensive lineman Calvin Barnett, linebacker Shaun Lewis and defensive back Justin Gilbert were named to the first team.

Millard, Ikard, Colvin and Barnett were all repeat selections. Ikard was one of only two unanimous selections, joining Texas Tech's Jace Amaro.

Sooners linebacker Dominique Alexander was named defensive freshman of the year.

Kansas State's Tyler Lockett, a former Tulsa Washington star, was named the special teams player of the year.

Baylor's Art Briles was named coach of the year, Bears quarterback Bryce Petty offensive player of the year and Texas' Jackson Jeffcoat and TCU's Jason Verrett shared defensive player of the year honors.

Other individual awards included West Virginia's Charles Sims as offensive newcomer of the year, Kansas' Isaiah Johnson as defensive newcomer of the year, Texas Tech's Baker Mayfield as offensive freshman of the year, Baylor's Cyril Richardson as offensive lineman of the year and Kansas State's Ryan Mueller as defensive lineman of the year.

Oklahoma State had six players chosen for the second team--quarterback Clint Chelf, fullback Kye Staley, defensive lineman Tyler Johnson, linebacker Caleb Lavey and defensive back Daytawion Lowe. Josh Stewart was selected as both a wide receiver and a kick/punt returner.

The Sooners had four second-team players--wide receiver Jalen Saunders, offensive lineman Daryl Williams, kicker Michael Hunnicutt and linebacker Eric Striker.

Iowa State's Jacques Washington, like Colvin a former Owasso standout, was named to the second team as a defensive back.

Sooners defensive back Gabe Lynn and linebacker Frank Shannon were named to the honorable mention list.

Oklahoma State defensive lineman James Castleman, wide receiver Tracy Moore, defensive lineman Emmanuel Ogbah and offensive lineman Brandon Webb were named as honorable mention selections. Defensive lineman Sam Wren also received votes for defensive newcomer of the year.


Offensive Player of the Year: Bryce Petty, Baylor

Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas; Jason Verrett, TCU

Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Charles Sims, West Virginia

Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Isaiah Johnson, Kansas

Offensive Freshman of the Year: Baker Mayfield, Texas Tech

Defensive Freshman of the Year: Dominique Alexander, Oklahoma

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Cyril Richardson, Baylor

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Ryan Mueller, Kansas State

Special Teams Player of the Year: Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year: Art Briles, Baylor



Quarterback: Bryce Petty, Baylor

Continue reading this story on the...

by Ryan Aber
OU Athletics Reporter
Ryan Aber has worked for The Oklahoman since 2006, covering high schools, the Oklahoma City RedHawks, the Oklahoma City Barons and OU football recruiting. An Oklahoma City native, Aber graduated from Northeastern State. Before joining The...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Jim Jordan: Republicans 'forfeit before the ref blows the whistle' | Washington Examiner
  2. 2
    Google Parent Company Alphabet Drops 'Don't Be Evil' Motto
  3. 3
    Four more 'Transformers' movies are coming in the next 10 years
  4. 4
    What It's Like to Be an Interior Designer for Really, Really Rich People
  5. 5
    Will the Supreme Court Decide That Democrats Have Too Much Power?
+ show more


× Trending ou Article