Big 12 football: Preseason All-Big 12 offers a small sample of what's ahead

The reprenstatives are largely selected based on last season's results, because that's essentially all they can be judged on in mid-July. But it does help give an overall view of the talent returning in the conference.
Oklahoman Published: July 17, 2013


Defensive line: Devonte Fields, TCU; Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State; Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas; Kerry Hyder, Texas Tech

Analysis: Fields, the reigning Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, headlines a stout group. Jeffcoat is coming off a season-ending pectoral injury.

Linebacker: Bryce Hager, Baylor; Jordan Hicks, Texas; Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State

Analysis: New faces here after the departure of K-State's Arthur Brown and the Iowa State duo of Jake Knott and A.J. Klein. Hicks, like Jeffcoat, is a Longhorn who had his 2012 season cut short because of a hip injury.

Defensive back: Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State; Jason Verrett, TCU; Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma; Quandre Diggs, Texas

Analysis: Verrett is widely regarded as the best DB in the Big 12, and perhaps the conference's best defensive player. Zimmerman and Colvin are also returning All-Big 12 honorees.

Special Teams

Kicker: Jaden Oberkrom, TCU

Punter: Kirby Van Der Kamp, Iowa State

Analysis: Oberkrom and Van Der Kamp can thank Quinn Sharp for exhausting his eligibility.

Kick returner: Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

Punt returner: Tramaine Thompson, Kansas State

Analysis: Two Oklahoma high school products that have become dynamic special teams weapons for Bill Snyder and Co.

Individual honors

Offensive Player of the Year: Lache Seastrunk, Baylor

Defensive Player of the Year: Devonte Fields, TCU

Newcomer of the Year: Charles Sims, West Virginia

Analysis: Again, the lack of returning quarterback frees up Seastrunk — a super speedster who averaged 159.3 rushing yards over Baylor's final four games — to snag the offensive award. Hard to argue with Fields getting the defensive nod after earning the award last season. Sims, a postgraduate transfer from Houston, tallied 851 yards and 11 touchdowns last season.

by Gina Mizell
OSU Sports Reporter
Gina Mizell joined The Oklahoman in August of 2011 as the Oklahoma State beat writer, where she covered the Cowboys' historic run to the Big 12 championship and Fiesta Bowl in her first season on the job. Before arriving in Stillwater, Gina was...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    CDC: U.S. has first confirmed case of Ebola in Dallas
  2. 2
    Netflix to shake up movies with 'Crouching Tiger 2'
  3. 3
    Donald Trump Tricked Into Retweeting Serial Killer Pic
  4. 4
    'Transparent' on Amazon Prime, reviewed: It’s the fall’s best new show.
  5. 5
    Brits Unwittingly Give Up Firstborns for Free WiFi
+ show more