Share “Bowls and the Heisman: The best Heisman...”

Bowls and the Heisman: The best Heisman winner bowl performances

The Sooners will face Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel in the Cotton Bowl on Jan. 4. Berry Tramel takes a look at the history of Heisman winners and bowl games.
BY BERRY TRAMEL Published: December 10, 2012

7. 1979 Charles White, Southern Cal: In a 17-16 Rose Bowl victory over Ohio State, White carried 39 times for 242 yards and a touchdown.

8. 1976 Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh: In a 27-3 Sugar Bowl rout of Georgia to secure the national title, Dorsett carried 32 times for 202 yards and a touchdown.

9. 1988 Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State: In a 52-14 Sun Bowl thrashing of Wyoming, Sanders rushed 29 times for 225 yards and five touchdowns, despite not playing in the fourth quarter.

10. 2002 Carson Palmer, Southern Cal: In a 38-17 Orange Bowl victory over Iowa, Palmer completed 21 of 31 passes for 303 yards, one TD and no interceptions.

Bowls by Heismans

The Orange Bowl has featured more current Heisman Trophy winners than any other bowl, with 11. The list:

Orange 11

Rose 10

Cotton 8

Sugar 8

BCS Title Game 4*

Fiesta 3

Liberty 2

Gator 2

Capital One/Citrus 2

Alamo 1

Holiday 1

Sun 1

* Two were played at the Fiesta Bowl site and one each at the Orange Bowl and Rose Bowl.

Heisman winners who didn't play in a bowl

Twenty-four of the 77 Heisman winners did not play in bowl games following their Heisman season:

1936: Jay Berwanger, Chicago

1937: Larry Kelley, Yale

1939: Nile Kinnick, Iowa

1940: Tom Harmon, Michigan

1941: Bruce Smith, Minnesota

1943: Angelo Bertelli, Notre Dame

1944: Les Horvath, Ohio State

1945: Doc Blanchard, Army

1946: Glenn Davis, Army

1947: Johnny Lujack, Notre Dame

1949: Leon Hart, Notre Dame

1950: Vic Janowicz, Ohio State

1951: Dick Kazmaier, Princeton

1952: Billy Vessels, OU

1953: Johnny Lattner, Notre Dame

1954: Alan Amache, Wisconsin 1955: Howard Cassady, Ohio State

1956: Paul Hornung, Notre Dame

1958: Pete Dawkins, Army

1964: John Huarte, Notre Dame

1965: Mike Garrett, Southern Cal

1967: Gary Beban, UCLA

1969: Steve Owens, OU

1989: Andre Ware, Houston


  1. 1
    Florida woman Periscopes while drunk driving
  2. 2
    Steve Spurrier is retiring immediately as South Carolina’s football coach
  3. 3
    Aunt sues 12-year-old nephew for $127,000
  4. 4
    More Americans Choosing To Renounce Citizenship Rather Than Pay Taxes
  5. 5
    Proposed bill would make college textbooks free
+ show more


× Trending ou Article