Share “Bracket unveiled for sixth annual Beer...”

Thirsty Beagle  


Bracket unveiled for sixth annual Beer Championship Series

Nick Trougakos Modified: November 1, 2013 at 5:15 pm •  Published: November 1, 2013

That most wonderful time of the year has arrived: Time for the annual Thirsty Beagle Beer Championship Series!

What is the Beer Championship Series, you ask?

It’s a 64-beer bracket where Oklahoma’s beer fans vote to advance their favorite beers. The beer that survives and advances through all of its match-ups is crowned BCS champion, is awarded the title of Oklahoma’s Favorite Beer and claims the coveted Golden Taphandle Trophy.

Some basic questions:

-Why start the BCS? I started the BCS in 2008 as a way to help generate interest in beer and to poke fun at that other BCS that we all love to loathe. Thus a bracket/playoff was only natural.

-How are the beers picked? Oklahoma brewers were allowed to nominate up to four of their own beers to be placed in the bracket. The remaining beers — all had to be available in Oklahoma — were selected by the Beer Selection Committee.

-How were the seeds selected? The beers were ranked independently by the Beer Selection Committee, and those rankings were then averaged to yield an overall rank. The beers were then slotted in their regions.

-Who is on the beer selection committee? The committee consists of myself; Gail White, owner of The Brew Shop homebrew supply store; Wes Glinsmann, past-president of the Red Earth Brewers homebrew club; and Freddy Lamport, owner/operator of BierGarten Wine and Spirits in Jenks.

-How were the regions picked? I’ve received numerous complaints over the years about the difficulty in comparing contrasting beer styles. Many have suggested beers should therefore be grouped by style regions. So, we’re testing that out this year. We’ll see how it works.

-Which beers are past champions? COOP Territorial Reserve Oak Aged Imperial Stout (2012); COOP Native Amber (2011); Marshall McNellie’s Pub Ale (2010, 2009); Flying Dog Tire Bite (2008).

-When does voting start? Monday!

I think that’s enough of the fine print. Let’s get to what we’ve all been waiting for. Without further delay…

The 2013 Thirsty Beagle Beer Championship Series 64-beer bracket!