CD review: Chad Sullins and the Last Call Coalition “Incommunicado”

CD review: Chad Sullins and the Last Call Coalition “Incommunicado”
Published: July 20, 2012

With their new album “Incommunicado,” Chad Sullins and the Last Call Coalition color their red dirt sound with enough muscular blues to leave fans of the distinctly Oklahoma musical style a bit speechless.

The Stillwater quartet — lead singer/guitarist Sullins, lead guitarist Josh Rutz, drummer Jeremy Clark and bassist Jerry Stanley — boldly leave a mighty musical mark with their second full-length album, the follow-up to their debut “Uphill Battle” and acoustic EP “What's Left of Me.” Their sophomore LP thrums with a gritty live energy that makes it perfect for cranking loud and powering through a long drive or boring day at the office.

Made primarily at 115 Recording in Norman, “Incommunicado” opens unassumingly enough with a minute-long “Intro” of hand claps, boot stomps and acoustic guitar strumming, but it's almost as if the band can't take that much mellow music, quickly kicking into take-no-prisoners blues-rock mode with the grinding rebel anthem “Scratch.”

Framed by unapologetic electric rock, Sullins boasts a gruff voice that growls effectively through the driving “Straight to Hell” with its pointed commentary on commercialism and class warfare and rasps appealingly on the rowdy drinking song “Thank God for Jack Daniels,” the album's first single and one of only two tracks the frontman didn't write.

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Colorado Is Consuming Way More Pot Than Anyone Ever Believed
  2. 2
    What Dan Gilbert said to LeBron James to get him to return to Cleveland
  3. 3
    Female Yahoo Exec Sued By a Female Employee for Sexual Harassment
  4. 4
    A company wants you to experiment on Facebook — by quitting
  5. 5
    LeBron's face vandalized on Miami mural that took 2+ years to create
+ show more