Share “College Football Playoff: A look at the...”

College Football Playoff: A look at the sites where championships will be contested

by Berry Tramel Published: August 27, 2014

Things to know about the sites that will be included in the College Football Playoff.

* College football’s championship game comes to the Dallas Cowboys’ AT&T Stadium in Arlington on Jan. 12. JerryWorld has brought the Super Bowl, the Final Four and the NBA All-Star Game to Dallas-Fort Worth. Now comes college football’s Big Bowl.

The 2015 national champion will be determined Jan. 11 in Glendale, Ariz. The 2016 national champion will be determined Jan. 9 in Tampa, Fla.

* In selecting the bowls to rotate among the semifinals, the conference commissioners went with the three most tradition-rich bowls — Rose, Sugar and Orange. It also retained the Fiesta Bowl, which had been a part of the BCS. Needing two more bowls to fill out the six-bowl formula, the commissioners opted for the Cotton and Peach bowls, because of geography, stadiums and organizational history.

Semifinal sites through 2025-26

2014-2015: Sugar/Rose
2015-2016: Orange/Cotton
2016-2017: Fiesta/Peach
2017-2018: Sugar/Rose
2018-2019: Orange/Cotton
2019-2020: Fiesta/Peach
2020-2021: Sugar/Rose
2021-2022: Orange/Cotton
2022-2023: Fiesta/Peach
2023-2024: Sugar/Rose
2024-2025: Orange/Cotton
2025-2026: Fiesta/Peach

Continue reading this story on the...

by Berry Tramel
Berry Tramel, a lifelong Oklahoman, sports fan and newspaper reader, joined The Oklahoman in 1991 and has served as beat writer, assistant sports editor, sports editor and columnist. Tramel grew up reading four daily newspapers — The Oklahoman,...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Tiger Woods hires a new swing coach
  2. 2
    Man convicted of beating grandmother to death while high on PCP
  3. 3
    30,000 missing emails from IRS' Lerner recovered |
  4. 4
    Report: Weather could change OSU-Baylor kickoff time
  5. 5
    New DHS immigration rules: Drunk drivers, sex abusers, drug dealers, gun offenders not top...
+ show more