Share “College Football Today”

Published on NewsOK Modified: November 29, 2014 at 11:05 pm •  Published: November 29, 2014


—Marcus Mariota, Oregon, threw for 367 yards and four TDs, and ran for 39 yards and two more scores to lead the third-ranked Ducks to a 47-19 victory over Oregon State in the 118th Civil War game.

—Amari Cooper, Alabama, tied his own school record with 224 yards receiving and caught three TD passes in the No. 2 Crimson Tide's 55-44 comeback victory over No. 15 Auburn.

—Cody Kessler, USC, passed for 372 yards and six TDs in a 49-14 victory over Notre Dame.

—Jordan Howard, UAB, set a school record with 262 yards rushing on 35 carries in a 45-24 win over Southern Miss.

—Patrick Mahomes, Texas Tech, set a Big 12 freshman record with 598 yards passing and threw for six TDs in a 48-46 loss to No. 5 Baylor.

—Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State, rushed for 267 yards and three TDs to lead the Aztecs over San Jose State 38-7.

—Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin, ran for 151 yards and accounted for two scores, helping the 14th-ranked Badgers beat No. 22 Minnesota 34-24.

—Christian Stewart, BYU, threw for 433 yards and five TDs in a 42-35 win over California.

—Zach Zenner, South Dakota State, rushed for 252 yards and scored a career-best five TDs in a 47-40 win against Montana State in the opener of the FCS playoffs.

—Gary Nova, Rutgers, threw for 347 yards and TDs in a 41-38 win over Maryland.



Top-ranked Florida State was again far from perfect.

And still ended up with another flawless record.

Seemingly playing with fire game after game, the Seminoles rallied for a 24-19 victory over rival Florida in Will Muschamp's final game as the Gators' coach.

Jameis Winston played like a turnover machine before leading the defending national champions to their 28th straight victory and consecutive undefeated regular seasons for the first time in school history. Florida State is the 16th team to accomplish the feat since 1950.

Cook ran for a career-high 144 yards for the Seminoles. They will face Georgia Tech in the Atlantic Coast Conference championship game Dec. 6.



For Ohio State, the thrill of beating rival Michigan was tempered by an injury to star quarterback J.T. Barrett.

Ezekiel Elliott scored untouched on a 44-yard run on fourth-and-1 with 4:58 left to help Ohio State, which lost Barrett early in the fourth quarter to an ankle injury, beat the Wolverines 42-28 on Saturday.

With no postseason, the only thing left to be decided for Michigan is the future of coach Brady Hoke. Interim AD Jim Hackett will make the call on whether the coach stays or goes.

Continue reading this story on the...