Share “Community Achievers”

Community Achievers

Oklahoman Published: February 19, 1997

BIOG: NAME: UPD: 19970220 -TEXT-

Recognition Moore

Six Moore Public Schools principals have been nominated by their schools for their outstanding contribution to reading at their site. The principals and their schools are: Mark Hunt, Brink; Johnny Bailey, Eastlake; Jan Callaway, Plaza Towers; Kathy Massey, Southgate; Scott Blythe, Sky Ranch; and Charolette Kramer, Northmoor. Teacher Johnnie Keel from Briarwood received a $300 scholarship to continue her master's degree in reading and her reading specialist certification.

Winners of the 1997 Frontier Day Spelling Bee at the Moore Public Library were: Grades 1-2: Chelsea Garcia, first place, Christopher Elmendorf, second place, and Trevor Clark, third place; Grades 3-4: Jennifer Kalel, first place, Michael Dorst, second place, Roshni Patel, third place; Grade 5-6: Christina Kalel, first place, Johnny Flake, second place, Michelle Morgan, third place; Grade 7-8: Stephanie Stevens, first place, Heather Goff, second place, Gerrie Hurlbut, third place; Grade 9 to adult: Phillip Hurlbut, first place, Anthony Lennon, second place, Terry Sturm, third place. Oklahoma City

Kellie Potts recently received second place in the painting category and third place in the drawing category at the 1996 William Jewell College annual student art competition.

Three students and two professors from Oklahoma City Community College have been invited to participate in the honors choirs at the national convention of the American Choral Directors Association. Representing the community college will be students Brian Broadway, Barbara Gonzalez and Scott Parker. Ron Miller, professor of music, and Dianne Broyles, professor of modern languages, also will perform.

Joe Sine recently was selected the National Catholic Educational Association Catholic Elementary School Distinguished Graduate. Sine graduated from Bishop John Carroll Catholic School in 1964 and currently is principal at St. Charles Elementary Catholic School. He is a graduate of Bishop McGuinness High School, the University of Oklahoma and received a master's from the University of Central Oklahoma.

Carol Sorensen has been named an Honor Graduate of the 1996 Oklahoma Bankers Association Consumer Lending School. She is an administrative assistant at BancFirst.

James E. Work recently was commended by the Oklahoma Bar Association for his work to accomplish the redemption of the bonds issued by the Oklahoma City Industrial Facilities and Cultural Trust for the expansion of the Oklahoma Bar Center.

Telma Ford-Hardison, a motivational speaker, recently served as the keynote speaker at a program to celebrate Black History Month at Washburn University in Topeka, Kan. She received the key to the city medallion from the mayor and the state pen from the mayor's assistant. She also received a proclamation from Gov. Frank Keating and from the governor of Kansas. Ford-Hardison will speak in Philadelphia, Pa., later this month. Spencer

Bahati J. Brown recently won high honors at the 1997 Mississippi Dixie Nationals Livestock Show. Bahati, who is a senior at Piney Woods Country Life School in Piney Woods, Miss., won Grand Reserve Champion Gelbvieh Bull and Grand Reserve Champion Commercial Heifer. Bahati is the president of the Piney Woods FFA. He is the son of Lacky and Gayle Brown. Other

Several metro area residents were named local winners in the Tools for Tomorrow All-American Vocational Student Awards program. Following are the local winners and their hometowns: Karen E. Barlow, Del City; Susan R. Clark, Jones; Kate L. Kloiber, Shylah D. Dorsey, Jaricha S. McCowan, all of Oklahoma City; Jason P. Goodwin, Moore; Nikkie L. Grubbs, Shawnee; Regan D. Holton, Tammy R. Russell, Kevin J. Snow, all of Midwest City; Ryan Wayne Kennemer, Kingfisher; Fabiola Lazos, Norman; Jeremy R. Merritt, Tuttle.

Continue reading this story on the... has disabled the comments for this article.