Share “Delta Sigma Theta Sorority celebrates...”

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority celebrates centennial

Published on NewsOK Modified: January 12, 2013 at 12:59 pm •  Published: January 12, 2013

The festivities culminate on Sunday, the sorority's actual centennial, with a black-tie dinner with guest honoree General Electric CEO Jeffrey R. Immelt.

The weekend celebration is a part of series of centennial year events for the sorority. In March, the Deltas will re-enact the Woman Suffrage Parade of 1913, in which their founders participated. The sorority will gather in Washington again in July for its national convention.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. was founded on Jan. 13, 1913, on the campus of Howard University. The sorority has more than 250,000 members and more than 900 chapters.

Members have included activists Mary McLeod Bethune and Dorothy Height and congresswomen Shirley Chisholm and Barbara Jordan. Other notable members include poet Nikki Giovanni, journalists Gwen Ifill and Soledad O' Brien, singers Aretha Franklin, Lena Horne, Leontyne Price and Roberta Flack, and actresses Cicely Tyson and Ruby Dee.