Disaster declaration issued for four southeast Oklahoma counties

President Obama has issued a disaster declaration for four southeastern Oklahoma counties to aid in recovery from December storms.
by Randy Ellis Published: January 31, 2014

President Barack Obama has issued a disaster declaration for four southeastern Oklahoma counties.

Counties in the disaster declaration are Choctaw, Le Flore, McCurtain and Pushmataha.

The declaration will make federal aid available to assist state and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations in recovery efforts stemming from a Dec. 5-6 severe winter storm.

The storm produced an estimated $6.5 million in infrastructure damage and response costs, according to preliminary damage assessments released by Gov. Mary Fallin's office.

The storm caused extended power outages for more than 10,000 homes and businesses and was blamed for 10 deaths and more than 800 injuries, the governor's office reported.

by Randy Ellis
Capitol Bureau Reporter
For the past 30 years, staff writer Randy Ellis has exposed public corruption and government mismanagement in news articles. Ellis has investigated problems in Oklahoma's higher education institutions and wrote stories that ultimately led to two...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    WATCH: Motorcycle Accident Ends in the Craziest Possible Way
  2. 2
    These Men Believe They Know What Happened To Missing Malaysia Airlines Flight MH370
  3. 3
    Hoover Crips investigation results in 51 people charged
  4. 4
    Texas Gov. Rick Perry enters courthouse to be booked
  5. 5
    Teacher shortage: Oklahoma schools begin academic year with more than 800 vacancies
+ show more