Share “FEMA grants aid to 10 Oklahoma counties”

FEMA grants aid to 10 Oklahoma counties

The financial assistance will help local governments that received heavy damage from last month's tornadoes and storms.
BY MICHAEL MCNUTT Modified: June 11, 2010 at 1:16 pm •  Published: June 11, 2010

The Federal Emergency Management Agency today granted Oklahoma's request for public assistance for 10 counties that were hard hit by the tornadoes and severe storms that occurred May 10-13.

The designation delivers federal funding to assist municipalities, counties and rural electric cooperatives with infrastructure repairs, debris removal and costs associated with responding to the storms.

The approved counties are Alfalfa, Cleveland, Grant, McIntosh, Major, Noble, Okfuskee, Osage, Pottawatomie and Seminole.

In these counties alone, the storms resulted in an estimated $7.4 million in infrastructure damage, and debris removal and response costs. Other counties can be added to the declaration as additional damages are identified.

Individual assistance is already granted for nine counties for damages to homes and businesses related to the storms.


  1. 1
    Hillary Clinton Really Is Coming For Your Guns
  2. 2
    Where does OU rank among college football's running back units?
  3. 3
    The best jobs for every personality type
  4. 4
    Lankford: Changing Washington 'takes strong families, strong churches and strong communities'
  5. 5
    Trial delayed for former sheriff's deputy charged with sexual battery
+ show more


× Trending news Article