Varsity High School Blogs


Ferguson Jenkins Award winners announced

by Jacob Unruh Published: January 13, 2014

Warren Spahn Award Gala organizers announced Monday 12 winners of the Ferguson Jenkins Awards, which are presented annually to the state’s top high school baseball and softball players and coaches.

The baseball winners include Cascia Hall’s Bryce Carter, Deer Creek’s Caleb Eldridge, Carl Albert’s Gavin Lavalley, Edmond Santa Fe’s Quin Walbergh and Owasso’s Braden Webb.

Softball winners include Southmoore’s Katelyn Brown, Sand Springs’ Mallory Collins, Piedmont’s Brè Davis, Westmoore’s Destinie Lookout and Carl Albert’s Abby Meador.

The two coaches honored are Deer Creek baseball coach Ron Moore and Southmoore softball coach Jeff Small.

The athletic winners are selected based on athletic and scholastic achievement.

The awards will be presented by Hall of Fame pitcher Ferguson Jenkins on Jan. 28 at the Warren Spahn Award Gala at the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame, where Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw will receive the Warren Spahn Award and ESPN softball analyst Michele Smith will receive the Bill Teegins Award.

by Jacob Unruh
Jacob Unruh is a graduate of Northeastern State University. He was born in Cherokee and raised near Vera where he attended Caney Valley High School.During his tenure at NSU, Unruh wrote for The Northeastern (NSU's student newspaper), the...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Female Yahoo Exec Sued By a Female Employee for Sexual Harassment
  2. 2
    A company wants you to experiment on Facebook — by quitting
  3. 3
    LeBron's face vandalized on Miami mural that took 2+ years to create
  4. 4
    Somewhere In Brooklyn Right Now, There Is A Pregnant Tarantula On The Loose
  5. 5
    Alek Wek On Her Journey From Refugee To Supermodel
+ show more