FIFA makes 7-team draw for Club World Cup

Associated Press Modified: September 24, 2012 at 11:48 am •  Published: September 24, 2012

ZURICH (AP) — Mexico's Monterrey will play the Asian champion for a chance to face Chelsea at the Club World Cup.

Copa Libertadores champion Corinthians of Brazil is in the other half of the draw.

The tournament, to be played from Dec. 6-16 in Japan, involves six continental champions plus the host country's league winner. Chelsea and Corinthians get byes to the semifinals.

In the quarterfinals, CONCACAF champion Monterrey will play the Asian Champions League winner, which will be decided in November.

The tournament begins with a playoff between Oceania champion Auckland City and the J-League title-holder. The winner advances to a quarterfinal against the African Champions League winner for the right to play Corinthians.

FIFA will use the Club World Cup to test goal-line technology at stadiums in Toyota and Yokohama.


Trending Now


  1. 1
    Dave Chappelle Reveals Shockingly Buff New Look
  2. 2
    Peaches Geldof Funeral to Be Held on Easter Monday
  3. 3
    Mayor Who Fired Lesbian Police Chief Caught On Tape In Homophobic Tirade
  4. 4
    NBA commissioner wants to raise age limit to 20
  5. 5
    Dream guitars I wouldn't mind calling my own (34 Photos)
+ show more